Construction Work – Wednesday 15th August

The things I do for my hobby! It’s long been an intention of mine to have proper embossed symbols on my Space Marines, and last night I took the plunge…

Starting off with some larger symbols, I created a template piece from some plasticard, then began tracing this and cutting out copies to glue onto my Dreadnought Drop Pod and the front of my pair of Vindicators:

Lucius Pattern Drop Pod - work in progress
Lucius Pattern Drop Pod – click to enlarge
Vindicator - work in progress
Vindicator – click to enlarge

Figuring that these were a bit too large to go on other vehicles, I created a smaller version to go onto Rhino-based hulls and Land Speeders:

Predator Annihilator - work in progress
Predator Annihilator – click to enlarge
Rhino - work in progress
Rhino – click to enlarge
Damocles Rhino - work in progress
Damocles Rhino – click to enlarge
Land Speeder Typhoon - work in progress
Land Speeder Typhoon – click to enlarge

With hindsight (I’m writing this the morning after), the symbols are probably a little large for the Land Speeders, but unfortunately they’re glued in place, and they look okay, so I’m happy with them.

I also added some to my Land Raider (I used the two different sizes here):

Land Raider - work in progress
Land Raider – click to enlarge

It hit me once I’d done these, that I’d have to cut out 5 symbols for each of my drop pods (of which I have 9), so that’s going to be my next task over the coming evenings!

In other news, I got around to finishing up my objective markers for 6th Edition. Normally I’ve just used some custom ones I built for each of my armies, however, now, with Mysterious Objectives being part of 6th Edition, I’ve had to create new ones which can house a D6, to make it clear what each objective is once rolled:

Objectives/Dice Holders - complete
Objectives/Dice Holders – click to enlarge

I’m going to leave them with just a drybrush for now, although I may revisit them to make them a bit more eye-catching at a later stage.

One of the 6th Edition missions calls for the objectives to also be worth a random amount of Victory Points – for this, I created some random-cost objective markers. THey’re deployed face down to begin with, then when the game starts, they’re flipped to reveal their cost (1, 2, 3 or 4 points). Rather than a simple number underneath, I figured I’d use some bits, and so I decided to use some of the chapter badge symbols which come with the Drop Pod and Land Speeder kits, each representing a different cost – 1 for Imperial Fists, 2 for Blood Angels, 3 for Space Wolves and 4 for Ultramarines (because everyone wants to be an Ultramarine… Thanks Mat Ward! [facepalm])

Random VP Objectives (face down)
Random VP Objectives (face down) – click to enlarge
Random VP Objectives (face up)
Random VP Objectives (face up) – click to enlarge

Only 45 more lightning bolt symbols to go!

2 thoughts on “Construction Work – Wednesday 15th August

    1. Leeman says:

      You’re right, there’s nothing wrong with them, it’s just the Mat Ward horse shit that all Space Marines want to be like them that I can’t stand.

Leave a Reply

