Brushwork – Tuesday 21st August

With the arrival of the 6th Edition boxed set imminent, and leaked pictures showing up across the Internet, I figured I’d work out what colour scheme I want for the Chaos models inside!

From the models I’ve seen so far, the Dark Angel ones are very nice, and a little too specific to the chapter to easily remedy (although I may give it a go). Reasoning that I may well have to paint them up as Dark Angels, I still wanted to put my own colour scheme on something in the box, and so I decided to come up with my own colour scheme for the Chaos Marines inside.

I toyed around with The Bolter and Chainsword’s interactive Chaos Space Marine Painter to test a few colour schemes, although in the end, I put brush to model to make the ultimate decision.

I’ve had a few Iron Warrior models kicking around since 3rd Edition (I used to have an army, but sold nearly all of it off to fund other things), and the few I’ve got left will also be added to this new warband. Given that they’ve got Iron Warrior shoulder pads, I knew that their symbol would have to be a skull of some sort, as I’m loathe to break the pads off. In the end, I decided on a red skull symbol, which should be easy enough to paint freehand onto any models which don’t have moulded detail. I figure this particular warband were former Iron Warriors who tired of the ‘old ways’ and broke off from the main legion.

Behold, the Brotherhood of Iron!

Chaos Space Marines - work in progress
Chaos Space Marines – click to enlarge
Chaos Space Marines - work in progress
Chaos Space Marines – click to enlarge

It’s a black basecoat, followed by Xereus Purple trim, with a highlight of, er, whatever the highlight colour is called nowadays. The black areas are highlighted with Adeptus Battlegrey (and the newer equivalent), while the gun casing is Coal Black (Privateer Press colour) highlighted with Kabalite Green.

This colour scheme should carry over nicely onto the Chaos models in the Dark Vengeance boxed set due out in a couple of weeks!

EDIT: For completeness, here’s the colour scheme shown using The Bolter and Chainsword’s interactive Chaos Space Marine Painter:

Brotherhood of Iron colour scheme
Brotherhood of Iron colour scheme – click to enlarge
Leave a Reply

