Brushwork – Thursday 28th August

In an effort to get some use out of models I’ve had sitting around for a few years, I’ve been re-writing my army lists in order to fit them in.

I’ve always loved the Deathwatch models ever since they came out in the early 2000s, and amassed a fair selection of them (about 15 or so in Power Armour). Towards the end of 5th Edition I realised that they make a perfect stand-in for Sternguard Veterans, and that’s where they found their way to the tabletop after nearly 10 years. With 6th Edition now upon us, I decided to get more use out of the remaining models, and so I decided to borrow a gaming-buddy’s idea of using a model to count-as Pedro Kantor, who makes Sternguard units scoring!

Kantor is armed with Dorn’s Arrow, essentially an Assault 4, AP4 Storm Bolter, and a Power Fist, as well as the Iron Halo which is standard for someone of his rank. I already had a Deathwatch model with Power Fist not doing much, so it was a simple case to replace his Bolter with a customised Storm Bolter and an Iron Halo (liberated from one of my spare Space Hulk Terminators).

I guess painting him as a Crimson fist would make the most sense, but since I already have a Crimson Fist in my Deathwatch, I didn’t want to over-represent one chapter over another. Of course, this guy is an Ultramarine (and we all know how much everyone wants to be an Ultramarine… – for more comedy about Mat Ward, click here).

Anyway, enough talk, on to the pictures. I still have a few details left to finish, like the gem stones, storm bolter scope and some general tidying up:

Deathwatch Captain (stand-in for Pedro Kantor) - work in progress
Deathwatch Captain – click to enlarge
Deathwatch Captain (stand-in for Pedro Kantor) - work in progress
Deathwatch Captain – click to enlarge
Deathwatch Captain (stand-in for Pedro Kantor) - work in progress
Deathwatch Captain – click to enlarge
3 thoughts on “Brushwork – Thursday 28th August

Leave a Reply

