Construction Work – Wednesday 23rd January

I’ve often wanted to magnetise a lot of models to allow for weapon swaps without having to buy/break apart old models, and finally I’ve taken the plunge…

I ordered some Neodymium (or ‘Rare Earth’) magnets from Ebay and they arrived yesterday, so I set about working on my Land Speeders to allow most of their weapons to be interchangeable (sadly I’m not able to do so with the gunners, but that’s not a huge deal).

For the most part, I figured I’d avoid having to worry about the polarity of the magnets by only adding a magnet to one ‘side’ of the join – the other piece would simply have a piece of thin metal added (I was lucky enough, several years ago at a tournament to be given a load of small metal disks (off-cuts from a metal-worker which he used as bases), and these were perfect to be cut to size and added to the weapons or speeders:

Magnetised weapons - click to enlarge
Magnetised weapons – click to enlarge
Land Speeders with metal plates added - click to enlarge
Land Speeders with metal plates added – click to enlarge
Magnetised mounting points for Typhoon Missile Launchers - click to enlarge
Magnetised mounting points for Typhoon Missile Launchers – click to enlarge

The exception to this was with the Multi-melta and Heavy Flamer barrels, which I decided to add magnets to both sides (mainly because cutting those metal disks was such a pain that I figured magnets would be easier!). As you can see, they look a bit ungainly at the moment, but I plan to bulk out the area above and below the magnet with Green Stuff to both blend it in and add a better grip for the magnet itself.

And below you can see how they look when attached. I’ve got to re-paint a few bits here and there, and I plan to disguise the side magnets by adding a transfer to them once painted so they’ll look like embossed squad markings or something. I’ll probably have to add ‘locator’ pins to the Typhoon launchers themselves (and drill a hole in the fuselage to match) so that they remain upright (as grabbing the model in the wrong place can cause them to shift – not exactly a huge issue but it’s one that I can easily fix so I may as well do it):

Magnetised Typhoon Missile Launchers - click to enlarge
Magnetised Typhoon Missile Launchers – click to enlarge
Magnetised Multi-melta and Heavy Flamer - click to enlarge
Magnetised Multi-melta and Heavy Flamer – click to enlarge
Magnetised Multi-melta and Heavy Bolter - click to enlarge
Magnetised Multi-melta and Heavy Bolter – click to enlarge
Magnetised Heavy Bolter and Assault Cannon - click to enlarge
Magnetised Heavy Bolter and Assault Cannon – click to enlarge
Leave a Reply

