Brushwork – Tuesday 5th February

I’ve been convinced by a couple of friends in my gaming group to enter a tournament this year – I’ve just missed out on a recent Combat Patrol one, although there’s one in April which I’ve bought a ticket for…

It’s a 2300pt 1-day tournament which allows Forgeworld units and is basically a bit less competitive than your Grand Tournaments and ETC type events, so I figured that since we’re currently a venue down and it’ll be some time before I can get a board and some terrain together, this is my best chance of getting some games in. With that in mind, I’ve been scratching my head trying to work out what to take to bring my list up to 2300pts. I’ve settled on a few tweaks to the usual list (Razorbacks instead of Rhinos, the loss of some combi-weapons here and there) and I’ve added in a unit of Assault Terminators and Assault Marines with a Meltagun, which I’ve photographed below. One of the benefits of having had a Marine army for so long is that I don’t have a great deal to finish painting in order to have a complete 2300pts painted up! Quite a rarity for me.

The Assault Terminators are there to either Teleport in and absorb some firepower, or I may try holding them back as a counter-charge unit to deter any back-line attacks:

Terminator Assault Squad - click to enlarge
Terminator Assault Squad – click to enlarge
Assault Terminator Sergeant - click to enlarge
Assault Terminator Sergeant – click to enlarge

Since I’ll also be using my many Terminators as a Deathwing army on occasion, I’ve added some magnets to a spare Cyclone Missile Launcher and added some chopped up paperclips to the back of one of the Terminators so he can carry some firepower (I may revisit this at some stage with actual magnets on the Terminator’s back and smooth it over with Green Stuff):

Terminator with Thunder Hammer, Storm Shield and Cyclone Missile Launcher - click to enlarge
Terminator with Thunder Hammer, Storm Shield and Cyclone Missile Launcher – click to enlarge

My final addition to my 2300pt list is a small Assault Squad with Jump Packs – I figure that since I’m using the Blood Angel Codex at the tournament, these guys will make a handy scoring unit, or alternatively can drop in and kill a tank (either way they’re cheap!)

Space Marine Assault Squad - click to enlarge
Space Marine Assault Squad – click to enlarge

The model on the far left and central model both have new Bolt Pistols (replacing their Plasma Pistols) taken from the Scout sprue – I love the customised look of the Scout pistols, so I might retrofit a few other models with those types of weapon in the future. I still have to paint the Meltagun armed chap, but once all the models in this post are done, my force for the tournament will be ready, far in advance of the actual event!

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Tuesday 5th February

Leave a Reply

