Part 2 – Brushwork – Thursday 29th August

Since there was so much to post, I’ve split this post in two.

I’ve finally managed to finish off my PanOceania models for Infinity. Regular readers will know that I’ve not been content with my colour scheme, until now – it was only a couple of small tweaks, but I think it’s gone a long way to making them look ‘finished’.

Their initial colours start with a brushed-on undercoat of Adeptus Battlegrey. The armoured areas get a coat of Mechrite Red, while the cloth areas are painted with Astronomican Grey. The red is washed with Agrax Earthshade, while Nuln Oil goes over the grey. I then re-coat the red areas with Mechrite Red, leaving the wash in the recesses. I then use Blood Red followed by Blazing Orange as a two-stage highlight on the red. Weapons are Leadbelcher washed with Nuln Oil on the metallic parts, while the casings start off Astronomican Grey before being highlighted with Skull White.

I recently started experimenting with Sectorial forces, and I chose the Neoterran Capitaline Army as they can run a 5-strong Link Team of Fusiliers – given that I had 3 already, I only needed to buy two more to complete the link, and here they are:

Fusilier with Heavy Machine Gun - click to enlarge
Fusilier with Heavy Machine Gun – click to enlarge
Fusilier with Heavy Machine Gun - click to enlarge
Fusilier with Heavy Machine Gun – click to enlarge
Fusilier with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher - click to enlarge
Fusilier with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher – click to enlarge
Fusilier with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher - click to enlarge
Fusilier with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher – click to enlarge

And here they all are together. I decided to change the ethnicity of the HMG model, as I get so bored of looking at almost universally Caucasian models. Granted, I’m not quite sure she fits the fluff of PanO (I’d have to double check), but I like the way she looks, so she’s staying!

Fusiliers - click to enlarge
Fusiliers – click to enlarge

I do still enjoy the more ‘vanilla’ side of PanO though, and here’s my newly adjusted Akal with HMG with his new weapon and armour colours:

Akal Commando with HMG - click to enlarge
Akal Commando with HMG – click to enlarge
Akal Commando with HMG - click to enlarge
Akal Commando with HMG – click to enlarge

Here’s my pair of Aquila Guard, one of which was converted using the spare HMG and head from the Spec Ops model. I had to resculpt his fingers from greenstuff, and I also sculpted (badly) some sunglasses on his face:

Aquila Guard - click to enlarge
Aquila Guard – click to enlarge
Aquila Guard - click to enlarge
Aquila Guard – click to enlarge
Aquila Guard - click to enlarge
Aquila Guard – click to enlarge
Aquila Guard - click to enlarge
Aquila Guard – click to enlarge

Continuing the Heavy Infantry theme, here’s my completed Swiss Guard with HMG:

Swiss Guard with HMG - click to enlarge
Swiss Guard with HMG – click to enlarge
Swiss Guard with HMG - click to enlarge
Swiss Guard with HMG – click to enlarge
Swiss Guard with HMG - click to enlarge
Swiss Guard with HMG – click to enlarge

Because my friends like to use a lot of camo, I found I needed another Multi Spectral Visor, as the Aquila Guard on his own won’t always cut it, so I’ve added a Nisse to my collection:

Nisse with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Nisse with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge
Nisse with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Nisse with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge

Finally, I treated myself to a TAG – I’ve always loved the Cutter model, although I wasn’t aware that he was widely despised by the Infinity community – apparently he’s pretty powerful, although I’m sure my gaming group will take him down in short order the first time he gets a game!

Cutter - click to enlarge
Cutter – click to enlarge
Cutter - click to enlarge
Cutter – click to enlarge
Cutter - click to enlarge
Cutter – click to enlarge
Cutter - click to enlarge
Cutter – click to enlarge

Finally, I figured I’d snap a couple of pics of the Civilian and the Crate – my group of friends and I tend to use the YAMS system written by IJW of the Infinity forums, who runs the Wargaming Trader website. I used a couple of models from Antenociti’s Workshop for them:

Crate - click to enlarge
Crate – click to enlarge
Crate - click to enlarge
Crate – click to enlarge
Civilian - click to enlarge
Civilian – click to enlarge

(Yes, I know the Civilian isn’t technically armed in the YAMS rules, but I figured this guy must be a bit of a bad egg to keep getting caught up in fire fights all the time!)

And last of all, a group shot:

All of my PanO - click to enlarge
All of my PanO – click to enlarge

6 thoughts on “Part 2 – Brushwork – Thursday 29th August

  1. cappuccinogaming says:

    Oh these came out amazing!! Very jealous of your ability to paint and highlight red correctly!!
    As much as I love the dynamic poses with the Infinity miniatures, I’m really struggling to give mine any level of game playable stability. Yours look awesomely secure!! Nicely done on all of these 🙂

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks for the compliments! Their stability is down to a sneaky use of pins, greenstuff and the fact that the bases aren’t solid – its plasticard over a standard slotted base 🙂

Leave a Reply

