Brushwork – Wednesday 2nd October

Saim Hann Guardian - click to enlarge

I’ve been spending more time on my Eldar lately, trying to get them all up to a stage further than my usual ‘red spray undercoat’ which they’ve all had for far too many years (a symptom of them having an out of date, underpowered Codex and my own laziness) – since the latest Eldar book came out in June I’ve been using them exclusively in my games of 40k, and so they deserve a paint job.

I decided to re-paint my Guardians too, since they’ve looked the same since this particular set of plastics were released (over 10 years, if memory serves), so I felt they needed some attention too, to neaten them up and also to bring their standard of painting in-line with the rest of the force. I’m no Golden Daemon winner, but I like to think my models are at least tabletop standard!

Saim Hann Guardian - click to enlarge
Saim Hann Guardian – click to enlarge
Saim Hann Guardian - click to enlarge
Saim Hann Guardian – click to enlarge

And here’s a shot of him next to a squad-mate and a Heavy Weapon platform – eagle-eyed readers might spot the two diagonal stripes on the chest-plates and weapon shield – this is to help me differentiate my two squads of guardians – the second squad and platform has their stripe at the opposite diagonal.

Saim Hann Platform and Guardians - click to enlarge
Saim Hann Platform and Guardians – click to enlarge

I tend to run two small Fire Dragon units in Wave Serpents, and so these chaps were quite high on my list to get to at least a 3-colour minimum (I intend to get the army all up to that stage before I go back and do detail work on them). You’ll notice the image below shows an 11-man unit – that’s because I decided after a few games that the Exarch just wasn’t worth the points so I dropped him and replaced him with a standard Fire Dragon which I was able to pick up on eBay.

Eldar Fire Dragons - click to enlarge
Eldar Fire Dragons – click to enlarge

I also like to use a big unit of Warp Spiders, and again, I wanted to give them all a unified paint scheme:

Eldar Warp Spiders - click to enlarge
Eldar Warp Spiders – click to enlarge

With both of these units, I’ve added detail to one figure as a test for when I go back and finish the unit – it helps give me a reference and also try out ideas before I go ahead and do a whole unit of them.

On the Infinity side of things, I’ve been playing a lot more games in preparation for the Infinity Winter Challenge run by The Wargaming Trader in November – I’ve recently been proxying an Auxilia unit and I really enjoyed their utility, so I picked up a set, and they’ll get my usual PanO red paint job in the next week or so:

Auxilia (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Auxilia (work in progress) – click to enlarge

A friend of mine recently aquired and sold on to me a pair of ORC troops and a Kamau with Light Grenade Launcher, although they were missing their antennas and the Kamau was missing his left arm. After writing to Corvus Belli, they were happy to send me replacement parts (despite the models being second hand) provided I purchased something from their online store. I then picked up an Asura for the start of my Aleph force, which will take shape over the coming months (although in the lead up to the tournament they’re a lower priority).

I decided that rather than use the ORCs as ORCs, I’d be able to use them as suitable proxies for the Guarda De Assalto, who is a Heavy Infantryman accompanied by an Auxbot (similar to the Auxilia). I’m not a huge fan of the Guarda De Assalto model, and so these chaps (with some minor conversion) work just fine. I adjusted the angle of the arm holding the Multi Rifle on the male ORC, so that it was less a ‘dance move’ and more a ‘firing from the hip’ pose. I also had to remove the HMG from the female ORC and replace it with a Spitfire from the Spec Ops blister, but it was a simple cut and replace job and I’m very happy with it.

ORC Troop with Multi Rifle (work in progress) - click to enlarge
ORC Troop with Multi Rifle (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Converted ORC Troop with Spitfire (Guarda De Assalto proxy, work in progress) - click to enlarge
Converted ORC Troop with Spitfire (Guarda De Assalto proxy, work in progress) – click to enlarge

The Kamau needed very little work as all he needed was an antenna and a left arm – unfortunately I didn’t make it clear to Corvus Belli that I needed his antenna too, but luckily I had a similar piece left over from my Fusilier with HMG, so by inverting it and clipping it slightly, it makes a perfect replacement:

Kamau with Light Grenade Launcher (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Kamau with Light Grenade Launcher (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Finally, I built my Asura, as a treat after all the PanO. Nothing too exciting to report about building her, although she is a lovely model, and I look forward to testing out my Aleph colour scheme on her soon:

Asura with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge
3 thoughts on “Brushwork – Wednesday 2nd October

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks, although I don’t tend to blend (I think it may be the shrinking of the image which is making it look that way) – I tend to do an ink wash followed by a 2-stage highlight using stock colours rather than blending up (I sometimes do that for centrepiece models, but never for whole armies!). Glad they look suitably impressive though!

Leave a Reply

