Brushwork – Monday 21st October

Asura with Spitfire - click to enlarge

It’s been a fairly productive month for me in terms of painting and gaming – I’m still preparing myself (and my list) for the upcoming Winter Challenge in November, although I’ve also been able to get to the painting table quite a bit too.

I decided that since my regular opponents and I have been gaming more and more regularly in our homes of late that it was time to actually get and finish my terrain collection off. I was able to pick up a lot of little bits and pieces from Antenociti’s Workshop to use as scatter terrain and to break up the rooftops from my Micro Art Studio buildings. I’ve also sprayed and drybrushed the buildings, although there aren’t any pictures in this particular blog post as they won’t really fit in my light tent!

The first two images are the air-conditioning units from Antenociti, which were sprayed with Army Painter Uniform Grey followed by a drybrush of Skull White. The metal details are a standard Abaddon Black basecoat followed by Leadbelcher over to top:

Small air conditioning units - click to enlarge
Small air conditioning units – click to enlarge
Large air conditioning units - click to enlarge
Large air conditioning units – click to enlarge

They really help to break up the flat surface of the rooftop and provide some much-needed cover, and they help to make the building look more ‘real’ rather than just a box with windows and a door.

Next up are some of the tech-crates, one of which you may have seen in a previous post. I decided that on their own, they’re a little too small to be scattered around, so I glued a few together and mounted them on a plasticard base. These were sprayed with Army Painter uniform grey, then hand-painted with Adeptus Battlegrey, followed by a drybrush of Fortress Grey. I painted the central piece with a different colour to break them up a bit and make them a little more interesting:

Crates - click to enlarge
Crates – click to enlarge

Finally, I picked up some ‘planters’ – these were a bargain, and coupled with a kind donation of some foliage from Darren, I was able to make these:

Planters - click to enlarge
Planters – click to enlarge

Like the rest of my terrain, they were sprayed Army Painter Uniform Grey and drybrushed with Skull White. The soil areas were painted with Scorched Brown, and then the foliage was glued on with PVA. I wanted to get them as I like the idea of the battlefield looking more like a civilised, habitable area (especially where a game of Infinity is concerned) rather than a cratered ruin in the middle of nowhere!

I’ll get some images of my table set up soon, to show the full extent of my terrain (including a few more bits from Antenociti, as well as the Micro Art Studio buildings and some Battlefield in a Box bits that I also own!).

Work continues on my Auxilia, who have all had their base-coats done, so it’s now onto highlights and details. Along with the rest of my PanOceania models, they’ve had an undercoat of Adeptus Battelgrey, followed by Mechrite Red (washed with Agrax Earthshade) for the armoured areas, and Astronomican Grey washed with Nuln Oil for the lighter areas. I’ll be doing their highlights next as they’re the final addition to my tournament lists.

Auxilia - work in progress - click to enlarge
Auxilia – work in progress – click to enlarge

I also completed my first Aleph model – the Asura – an awesome model, although I’m still undecided about the colour scheme – I’m happier going with a darker scheme – many of the Aleph (and indeed, Infinity models in general) out there on the web appear to follow the studio scheme pretty closely, which isn’t a bad thing, but I like my stuff to be my own, and so I always try and find my own colour schemes (my Saim Hann Eldar possibly being the only exception as far as my armies go). Anyway, here she is:

Asura with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire – click to enlarge

Like the PanO, she’s had a brushed-on undercoat of Adeptus Battlegrey. Her main suit colour is Abaddon Black, while the purple areas are Naggaroth Night highlighted with Xereus Purple, followed by an edge highlight of Genestealer Purple. The weapon is painted with P3 paints Coal black, followed by highlights of Kabalite and Sybarite Green. I think I’ll be able to make more of a judgement about the colours once I’ve painted a couple more figures in a similar scheme.

The second of my Aleph figures is the wonderful Penthesilea model. I decided to use a custom-made base which I’d originally created to use for a TAG (as opposed to the metal base-extensions that Corvus Belli use). In the end, I was able to find a set of 50mm bases on eBay which will be used instead of base-extensions, meaning that this particular base would have gone to waste – however, due to the way I make these bases, a standard 40mm base wasn’t going to work as the loss of a few millimetres on the base diameter meant that there was very little contact between model and base. I also made sure that her left foot was in the proper position on the floor – for some reason, the model appears to have been sculpted with her heel dug into the ground, which looks odd to me, so it was a simple case of bending her ankle so the foot was flat:

Penthesilea - work in progress - click to enlarge
Penthesilea – work in progress – click to enlarge
Penthesilea - work in progress - click to enlarge
Penthesilea – work in progress – click to enlarge

Granted, some tournaments may disallow this particular base due to it not being the one supplied with the model, but, with a little encouragement from some fellow Infinity players on Twitter, I was reassured that it’s unlikely to be an issue (and given the rarity of Infinity Tournaments around here, it’s unlikely to be an issue).

Finally for this post, I managed to actually assemble the Wraithseer I picked up several years ago! I had to shorten his spear somewhat as I managed to break it while trying to bend it back into shape – however, this turned out to be a good thing as it made assembly much easier, if you can believe it!

Given the current back-and-forth over the Wraithseer rules between various publications, I decided to magnetise the D-Cannon, which is handy as almost all of my Eldar heavy weapons are magnetised, and so now I can swap his weapons with no worries if his rules or my local meta change (if I ever decide to use him in a game – I only bought him for display purposes really). I went with a more action-oriented pose with my Wraithseer – many of the ones I found online are in the standard ‘at rest’ pose which didn’t do it for me. This guy was sprayed with Army Painter red (I forget which one!):

Wraithseer - Work in Progress - click to enlarge
Wraithseer – Work in Progress – click to enlarge
Wraithseer - Work in Progress - click to enlarge
Wraithseer – Work in Progress – click to enlarge
Wraithseer - Work in Progress - click to enlarge
Wraithseer – Work in Progress – click to enlarge

He’ll eventually get the highlight/shade/detail treatment, although as regular readers will know, I’m a fickle beast and he may just stay red for a few years first!

5 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 21st October

  1. CrispyPete says:

    Love the idea of the scatter terrain for the rooftops, great idea and they look great painted. On the last post really liked all the armour edge highlighting to, wish I had the patience for that as it’s very effective from a distance as you said. Will follow with interest and definitely looking forward to seeing a table layout pic or two.

      1. CrispyPete says:

        Reading your blog just amazed at how you manage to paint so much to such a a good standard in such a short time. On top of that time for games too! Hats of to you sir 😉

Leave a Reply

