Brushwork – Sunday 3rd November

Aleph Asura, Deva Functionary and Devabot - click to enlarge

I’ve been working on my Aleph this weekend, and I’ve managed to complete one Devabot and one Functionary, and I’ve made a tweak to my Asura.

Aleph Asura, Deva Functionary and Devabot - click to enlarge
Aleph Asura, Deva Functionary and Devabot – click to enlarge

I was never happy with the Asura’s eyes, which initially were red with a white highlight, but they blended in a little too much with the pale skin tone, so I’ve revisited them with a Dark Angels Green, Snot Green and then Bilious Green highlight, which I think shows up a lot better:

Asura with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Asura with Spitfire – click to enlarge

Here are some detail shots of the Deva and Devabot – these were relatively simple to paint. I decided to keep the purple a little darker on the bot compared to the Deva and Asura – I think it looks a little more menacing with the darker tones compared to the more human-looking Aleph models, who have purple as a spot colour, and so it needs to show up a little more next to their black colours:

Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser – click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser – click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser – click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle and Nanopulser – click to enlarge

The black areas were highlighted first with a custom black ink/Codex Grey mix which I’ve had for years – it helps give a really subtle first stage highlight to my blacks, before I add a harsher line of Adeptus Battlegrey or Codex Grey. I added this really dark grey to the majority of the Deva’s trousers, to help differentiate it from his jacket (I think it gives the impression of them being made from a different material compared to the upper half).

Next up, detail of the Devabot:

Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower - click to enlarge
Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower – click to enlarge
Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower - click to enlarge
Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower – click to enlarge
Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower - click to enlarge
Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower – click to enlarge
Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower - click to enlarge
Devabot with Heavy Flamethrower – click to enlarge

My next plan is to finish the female Deva, and her bot, which then means my 300pt Neoterran force will be complete in time for the Winter Challenge!

3 thoughts on “Brushwork – Sunday 3rd November

  1. CrispyPete says:

    The trousers on the deva are great and I recall like your alternative scheme, definitely captures the more menacing aspect of Aleph. Love the purple on all the models and the bluey/green highlights of the weapons. Looking great!

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks! I wanted to avoid the studio scheme (it’s a lovely scheme, but I always prefer to put my own spin on my models where possible!), and it took me quite a while to decide on a scheme for them (I spent a long time playing in photoshop to find a scheme I liked!)

      1. CrispyPete says:

        Wish I could do that, finding a good scheme is something I really struggle with. Bought a couple of art based books to help me with this but haven’t tried anything interesting out yet. Also given where I am painting wise it’s good to have some source material to reference and compare against.

Leave a Reply

