Brushwork – Wednesday 6th November

300pt Neoterran Capitaline Army - click to enlarge

I’m on a bit of a roll lately in preparation for the Infinity Winter Challenge – having done my fair share of stupidly late nights on the eve of a Tournament I’ve made sure that for this and the last Tournament I attended (Vonpocalypso back in April – A personal best of 5th place!) that everything’s painted up ahead of time – it means I can get a good night’s sleep the night before and also not wind up my fiancé.

The 4th and 5th of my Aleph models got completed last night, which is a double bonus as they form part of one of the PanOceania Sectorial armies (for those not in the know, a Sectorial is a variant army list, of which nearly all the factions have a couple – it’s a nice way to expand your force and open up alternative play-styles). Here’s Deva number 2 and her bot:

Deva Functionary and Devabot - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary and Devabot – click to enlarge

And some more detailed shots of the Deva:

Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle – click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle – click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle – click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle - click to enlarge
Deva Functionary with Combi-Rifle – click to enlarge

Here she is alongside her companion with his bot:

Deva Functionaries and Devabots - click to enlarge
Deva Functionaries and Devabots – click to enlarge

Like the other Aleph models, she was painted black with a custom dark-grey highlight which I mixed years ago with Codex Grey and black ink. She then had a further edge highlight of Adeptus Battlegrey. The purple areas were done with Naggaroth Night, followed by Xereus Purple then Genestealer Purple for the final edging.

Some of you may be wondering why the bots have an overall darker purple than the other more humanoid models – this is a deliberate choice as the humanoid Aleph models are predominantly black, at which point Nagarroth Night doesn’t really show up much next to it, and so the purple acts more as a spot colour, and so needs to stand out more, hence it gets a more generous covering of Xereus Purple than the bots, who stay predominantly in Nagarroth Night, since it’s their main colour.

While I was completing these guys, I realised I should probably do something to differentiate the two bots from each other (as things might get confusing if they end up in close proximity during a game), so I added a couple of numbers to the carapaces:

Devabots with Heavy Flamethrowers - click to enlarge
Devabots with Heavy Flamethrowers – click to enlarge

I also did the same with my Auxbots for the same reason:

PanOceania Auxbots - click to enlarge
PanOceania Auxbots – click to enlarge

Here they are all together – the Aleph units do stick out a bit, but I dont’ think that’s a bad thing in all – I want all of my Infinity factions to stand out, after all:

300pt Neoterran Capitaline Army - click to enlarge
300pt Neoterran Capitaline Army – click to enlarge

Finally, I’ve started work on Penthesilea – arguably she’s the model that convinced me to pick up Aleph as a second faction:

Penthisilea (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Penthisilea (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Penthisilea (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Penthisilea (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Her bike is the P3 paints Coal Black, which will be highlighted the same as the weapons on the Deva and Asura – I did contemplate painting it purple but I think I’d prefer it to have the green tint instead, since she’ll have purple on her armour plates anyway (and it’ll also avoid any of the inevitable ‘purple rocket between her thighs’ type of jokes!)

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Wednesday 6th November

Leave a Reply

