Brushwork – Monday 11th November

Penthesilea - click to enlarge

After a practice day on Saturday for the Winter Challenge I learnt the hard way that I need far more practice with the Neoterrans, so I suspect they’ll be relegated to friendly games for the time being while I take my vanilla PanO to the event.

Spurred on by multiple defeats, I finally finished Penthesilea and added green stuff to the bases of my other Aleph models (although I didn’t feel they warranted taking pictures of gap-filling!)

Here’s Penthesilea though:

Penthesilea - click to enlarge
Penthesilea – click to enlarge
Penthesilea - click to enlarge
Penthesilea – click to enlarge
Penthesilea - click to enlarge
Penthesilea – click to enlarge
Penthesilea - click to enlarge
Penthesilea – click to enlarge

I’m pretty pleased with the green on the bike – it’s subtle and doesn’t draw too much attention away from the star of the piece, Penthesilea herself. I took a bit of time on her hair to make it really stand out. She shares the standard ‘green’ eyes with the rest of my Aleph models (a Dark Angels Green base with a fine line of Bilious Green for detail).

On the 40k side of things, I’ve decided I’m going to take Space Wolves to Vonsmallhausen in January – that means I need to get cracking on them! I plan to take an infantry-heavy Space Wolf army (it’s 1250pts, so that’ll be the majority of my infantry for the whole 2000pt army seeing a paintbrush in the next few weeks in the lead-up to the tourney).

I don’t think I’ve shown too much of these guys since the initial post about them back in May, and to be honest I’ve not really made much progress on them since then other than to assemble the army and get the whole thing undercoated in black. I’ve now begun work on some of the units that I’ll be taking to the tournament.

The next part of the post for the most part will be a bit of a dumping ground for images, but there’s a bit of explanation with each.

To begin the deluge, here’s the initial Grey Hunter I painted back in the Summer, who now has his chapter badge and squad markings complete (Click to see their information in the Armies section for more information on why they’re not all wolfed up):

Wolf Claws Grey Hunter - click to enlarge
Wolf Claws Grey Hunter – click to enlarge
Wolf Claws Grey Hunter - click to enlarge
Wolf Claws Grey Hunter – click to enlarge

He’s a member of a back-line squad who are armed with a pair of Plasma Guns:

Grey Hunters (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Grey Hunters (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Where possible with these models and the rest of the models in the Wolf Claws army I’ve given them extra pouches, scabbards, knives, pistols etc so that they look suitably armed and look more like a fighting force than my usual marine army who lack a lot of the additional pouches.

In addition to four units of Grey Hunters, I’ll also be taking two units of Long Fangs – one unit carrying 4 missile launchers, the other carrying 3 Lascannons:

Long Fangs (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Long Fangs (work in progress) – click to enlarge

They’re all heavily ‘work in progress’, with simple basecoats for now, but I’ll be going back over unit by unit to add the detailing as time goes on – I want to have the whole army off of the undercoat stage first before I concentrate on detail.

Here’s a Wolf Guard who will lead one of the other Grey Hunter units:

Wolf Guard (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Wolf Guard (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I’ve given him a full bone-coloured helmet to differentiate him from the Grey Hunters.

In my 2000pt list, I also have a unit of 5 Wolf Guard Terminators armed with a selection of Power Weapons/Wolf Claws – I’ve nearly completed one of them (with an Assault Cannon), but I’ve added a picture of the whole unit too (although they won’t be part of the tournament list):

Wolf Guard Terminator with Assault Cannon (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Wolf Guard Terminator with Assault Cannon (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Wolf Guard Terminator with Assault Cannon (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Wolf Guard Terminator with Assault Cannon (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Wolf Guard Terminators (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Wolf Guard Terminators (work in progress) – click to enlarge

One model that will be part of the tournament list is this Rune Priest (who, in a strange twist of fate, is actually complete!)

Rune Priest - click to enlarge
Rune Priest – click to enlarge
Rune Priest - click to enlarge
Rune Priest – click to enlarge

Finally, here’s a few images of my quad gun, plus a sneak peak at the Wolf Guard Battle Leader who’ll be manning it at the tourney (BS5 twin-linked? Yes please!) Nothing too special on the quad gun other than a heavy drybrush of Leadbelcher – I don’t like to spend a lot of time on terrain pieces, I’d rather spend time on a model making it look as good as it can. The quad gun was added to a 60mm base, and I also gave it a spare control panel I had left over from a Rhino interior so that models have somewhere to interface with it and control it:

Wolf Guard Battle Leader and Quad Gun (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Wolf Guard Battle Leader and Quad Gun (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Quad Gun (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Quad Gun (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Quad Gun (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Quad Gun (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Quad Gun (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Quad Gun (work in progress) – click to enlarge

That’s it for now – next time I’ll be showing more Aleph as I work my way through them, plus the remaining PanOceania models I’ve got sitting around unpainted. Until next time!

4 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 11th November

  1. CrispyPete says:

    Hi Leeman, absolutely fantastic Penthesilea! Really loving your work on that. Agree the bike is excellent and doesn’t overpower the model at all. Really like the edging and blends, really makes it pop. Overall fantastic job. If I can get mine to look a fraction that good I will be a happy man. Did you paint it all in one go or paint her separately to the bike? All the best Pete.

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks! I’m pretty pleased with her 🙂

      I painted her all in one go – I’ve never been a fan of painting before assembly mainly as I’ve had bad experiences in the past with superglue fumes discolouring the model, although also it causes issues with handling the pieces beforehand.

Leave a Reply

