Brushwork – Wednesday 27th November

Naga Hacker - click to enlarge

So, buoyed by my experience at the Winter Challenge, I’ve been continuing work on my Infinity figures – as it stands, I now only have 6 more of them left to paint!

First up are some models which were first shown back in early October, and they’ve been a bit neglected with all my talk of Neoterra and tournaments. However, now that the tournament has passed I’ve been able to complete them.

First off is a Kamau with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher:

Kamau with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher - click to enlarge
Kamau with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher – click to enlarge
Kamau with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher - click to enlarge
Kamau with Combi Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher – click to enlarge

I’ve always liked the look of the Kamau, and I hope to see them get a bit of expansion next year. With a few more options they’d make a fantastic Link Team, I reckon.

Next up are the pair of ORC Troopers which I’m planning to proxy as Guarda De Assalto – I quite fancy giving the unit a try as it sounds fun, but I’m not overly keen on the official model – also, I picked up this pair of ORCs on the cheap, and ORCs are fairly bog-standard Heavy Infantry, being overshadowed by Aquila and Swiss Guards. Used as-is, I don’t really have much need for them, so they’ll be used as proxies instead, since I already have the Auxbots from my Auxilia set.

Guarda De Assault with Multi Rifle and Auxbot - click to enlarge
Guarda De Assault with Multi Rifle and Auxbot – click to enlarge
Guarda De Assault with Multi Rifle and Auxbot - click to enlarge
Guarda De Assault with Multi Rifle and Auxbot – click to enlarge
Guarda De Assault with Spitfire and Auxbot - click to enlarge
Guarda De Assault with Spitfire and Auxbot – click to enlarge
Guarda De Assault with Spitfire and Auxbot - click to enlarge
Guarda De Assault with Spitfire and Auxbot – click to enlarge

Lastly, for the PanO, the final model which needed painting was the one I received in my goody bag at the Winter Challenge – a Fusilier with Combi Rifle. Since I already had this particular sculpt I threw a few ideas around in my head what to do with him – some were ambitious, like completely changing his pose and using a spare set of Hexa arms give him a Spitfire, although I quickly nixed this idea in favour of a more simple conversion – I figured I’d make him into a Forward Observer, so it would be clear when I was using those particular skills.

It was a simple case of sculpting an eye-piece out of Green Stuff – it’s meant to be some kind of targetting device, which I guess he can use to mark targets for his comrades, and I guess could also represent whatever it is they use as a Flash Pulse in Infinity. I also decided to modify his Combi Rifle slightly with the addition of a bigger scope, again, to help reinforce that he’s not a bog standard Fusilier. The scope was taken from a Space Marine Scout Bolt Pistol, and I simply clipped and filed down the upper magazine on the rifle and added the scope, along with a bit of Green Stuff to hide any joins.

Fusiler Forward Observer conversion - click to enlarge
Fusiler Forward Observer conversion – click to enlarge
Fusiler Forward Observer conversion - click to enlarge
Fusiler Forward Observer conversion – click to enlarge
Fusiler Forward Observer conversion - click to enlarge
Fusiler Forward Observer conversion – click to enlarge

For those who are curious to see how different he is from the standard sculpt, here’s a shot of him next to his ‘twin’, so you can see the difference:

Converted Forward Observer and Fusilier comparison - click to enlarge
Converted Forward Observer and Fusilier comparison – click to enlarge

Now that all the PanO are complete, I’m eager to get my Aleph complete, and I began last night with my Naga Hacker:

Naga Hacker - click to enlarge
Naga Hacker – click to enlarge
Naga Hacker - click to enlarge
Naga Hacker – click to enlarge
Naga Hacker - click to enlarge
Naga Hacker – click to enlarge
Naga Hacker - click to enlarge
Naga Hacker – click to enlarge

Like the rest of the humanoid Aleph, he’s had his purple made slightly lighter than it’ll appear on the Remotes, as I want it to stand out from the predominantly black uniforms the humanoids are wearing.

Finally, I just wanted to give a shout out to The Dice Bag Lady, who I had first spotted on Twitter, being widely praised by many of the #warmongers group. After a bit of thought I contacted her with my commission, and I’m absolutely delighted with the result, which you can see below:

My custom dice bag made by The Dice Bag Lady - click to enlarge
My custom dice bag made by The Dice Bag Lady – click to enlarge
4 thoughts on “Brushwork – Wednesday 27th November

  1. fleshandmetal says:

    That Kamau looks great. Glad to see him in a far better shape than last time I saw him! I really like the Forward Observer conversion as well. It’s nice that the upgrade is clearly viable. Also the Naga is very cool, I am looking forward to playing your Aleph against my Nomads!:)

Leave a Reply

