Brushwork – Monday 7th April

Aleph Myrmidon (work in progress) - click to enlarge

Salute is just 5 days away and unfortunately it doesn’t look like I’m going to hit my target of having the rest of my Aleph painted up beforehand! Still, I did get to use them on Saturday just gone, which also happened to be International Tabletop Day. I even gave the Steel Phalanx a go against my friends’ Yu-Jing army. Ajax is a good laugh to use on the tabletop, and although he took an O-Yoroi TAG down to its final wound, he was unable to survive the return swing!

Inspired by how fun the Myrmidons were to use, I decided to start painting one – he’ll be a test-bed for their colours before I commit to the other four models. Here he is with his base coats on:

Aleph Myrmidon (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Aleph Myrmidon (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Aleph Myrmidon (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Aleph Myrmidon (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I’m fairly happy with him, and once I’ve highlighted up the black areas he should look less like a dark blob and more akin to my Thrasymedes, with some grey areas as well as the black/purple that my Aleph are known for. I’m a little worried that he may come out too ‘purple’ compared to the rest of my models, so I may tweak his trousers a bit to rectify that.

Speaking of purple, I also made a start on my HMG rebot (remote robot), which is quite fun to use, as it has Total Reaction and a 360° Visor, so it makes a great point-defense tool:

Aleph Rebot with HMG (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Aleph Rebot with HMG (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Aleph Rebot with HMG (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Aleph Rebot with HMG (work in progress) – click to enlarge

As usual for my Aleph, this predominantly purple model will retain a darker tone overall, to avoid looking too much like an 80s TV bad guy!

Finally for today’s short post, here’s the start I made on my final two Posthumans, a Mk1 Engineer and a Mk3 with Spitfire (who often doubles as a Deva with Spitfire and Multispectral Visor):

Aleph Posthuman Mk1 Engineer (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Aleph Posthuman Mk1 Engineer (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Aleph Posthuman Mk3 with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Aleph Posthuman Mk3 with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge

They’ve only had their black areas done so far, but from here it’s a relatively simple couple of steps to bring them up the rest of my force.

In other wargaming news, I’m entered into another small 40k tournament in early June, so expect to see a few more Eldar models cropping up in these posts as I near the event. That plus the build-up to a Infinity tournament which myself and a few friends will be having later this year.

3 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 7th April

  1. CrispyPete says:

    Looking good Leeman, like the rebots when I saw them in a MWG battle report. Have you glued all the bits that change the type of bot? I was considering magnetising the different bits on the back/scorpon tail bits so I could switch between the different ones but may be easier to jsut proxy and say what it is. Looking forward to Salute to. Thinking of picking up the steel phalanx starter set or maybe another faction when I’m there. Hopefully see you at the Antenociti stand in the afternoon to say hi!

    1. Leeman says:

      Cheers Pete! I bought this bot 2nd hand, so I didn’t have the other one, but as I understand it the box only contains enough bits to build one of each, so if I owned a pair I’d most likely just proxy the other one. I’m also tempted by the Phalanx box at Salute, but it depends if I see some nice bits of terrain! Will be good to say hello! 🙂

Leave a Reply

