Construction Work – Wednesday 16th April

My bag of non-terrain goodies from Salute - click to enlarge

So, I’ve returned from Salute (and what a fantastic day it was – more on that in another post) with a fairly modest haul, which I’ve been able to assemble over the last couple of days (it so happened that Salute coincided with a week off that myself and Mrs Leeman had booked!)

While at the show I’d pre-ordered a bunch of ‘Designed for Infinity’ stuff from Micro Art Studio – The set of 3 Holo Ads, plus a set each of the newer Holo Ads (Set 1, Set 2) which hook onto the walkways and buildings. In addition to these wonderful bits of scatter terrain, I also picked up an Objective Room and Garage. I also added an extra set of roofs to my order, so that I could cover and allow access to the top of the Objective room if I wanted to.

Ordering all this stuff before the show allowed me to get 20% discount, as opposed to the on-the-day discount of just 10%, which meant that all the above only came to just under £60! Bonus!

Discount-gloating aside, I did also pick up a few bits on the day – a pair of Bandua Wargames Q-Building packs, which should add some much-needed height to my table, as well as a few extra pieces of large terrain!

I was relatively restrained on the miniatures and dice front (despite ordering the guys to stop me if I tried to buy any dice…), and came home with this little lot:

My bag of non-terrain goodies from Salute - click to enlarge
My bag of non-terrain goodies from Salute – click to enlarge

5 colour-coordinated dice for my Aleph and PanO (yes, I co-ordinate my dice to the army I’m fielding…) plus 4 blisters in a 4-for-3 deal – a Myrmidon with Spitfire, Naga with Monofilament Mines, an Ekdromoi with HMG and a Spec Ops model for my Aleph – not the biggest haul in the world, but it’s more than made up for with all the new terrain I came home with!

Of course, you don’t come to this blog to look at product shots from other companies websites or shots of blister packs, and that’s why I’ve assembled and photographed them for you!

First off, the Myrmidon, who’s had a bit of work done on his base to remove the pile of rocks and instead have some kind of ‘box’ added (I wasn’t imaginative enough to come up with a clever name for whatever that is I’ve sculpted!). I clipped the sides of the rock pile into a rectangular shape and smoothed it off with Green Stuff, and even indented a little hexagon design onto two of the sides (because Infinity = Hexagons on all the things). Unfortunately my impatient nature meant that it needs a bit of extra work to neaten up as I attached him to his base a little too early and the green stuff was still quite soft, so I’ll return to him before painting and neaten it up a bit:

Myrmidon with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Spitfire – click to enlarge

He’s a bit of a strange model in comparison with the other Myrmidons – it’s like he’s been sculpted more in the heroic scale of things, rather than the more realistic scale of the other Myrmidons. Hopefully he won’t look too odd next to them!

Next is my Naga with Monofilament mines. I’ve often proxied my Naga Hacker as the Monomine version, and I’ve had a lot of fun with him – now I could field a pair and really make things difficult for my opponents!

Naga with Monofilament mines - click to enlarge
Naga with Monofilament mines – click to enlarge
Naga with Monofilament mines - click to enlarge
Naga with Monofilament mines – click to enlarge

Next is a model I’ve been wanting to get for a while, which can serve as a multitude of proxies, or even as a Spec Ops when we play games which allow them:

Chandra Spec Ops - click to enlarge
Chandra Spec Ops – click to enlarge

I’m not a huge fan of the ‘I’m a little teapot’ stance, but it’s a nice model festooned with pouches and extra equipment which should be fun to paint (or a nightmare, one or the other!)

Finally, I tackled the Ekdromoi, who went together wonderfully, although the rear wings etc were a nightmare as they have the smallest contact point in the history of mankind! Still, a blob of green stuff helped, and it’ll be mostly hidden by the dark crevice and paint job:

Ekdromoi with HMG - click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG – click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG - click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG – click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG - click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG – click to enlarge

He’s leaning forward a little more than the studio model, but I prefer it as it looks more animated, like he’s sprinting around firing, rather than leaping upwards. Still, he should add some nice mobility options to my Aleph, who tend to play as a fairly slow-moving army currently.

To round off this post, I figured I’d illustrate just how crazily big those Bandua buildings are, so here’s a couple of shots to show how big they are next to the models:

Bandua Wargames Q Buildings - click to enlarge
Bandua Wargames Q Buildings – click to enlarge
Bandua Wargames Q Buildings - click to enlarge
Bandua Wargames Q Buildings – click to enlarge

It’s a looooong way down from up there!

4 thoughts on “Construction Work – Wednesday 16th April

  1. dave2718 says:

    I sometimes feel that the big buildings that are so common to modern cities are missing from gaming tables. I’m interested to hear how they go in a few games.
    BTW, I get the match dice to army thing. I do the same …

    1. Leeman says:

      Yeah, when I played at a couple of events down in Exeter, the one thing that struck me about what I lack in terms of terrain was height, so these should go a long way towards that! Hehe, I have D6s to match each of my 40k armies, might as well follow suit with Infinity! 🙂

  2. CrispyPete says:

    Hi Leeman, was nice to meet you at Salute. I have those Bandua buildings and they are great and easy to put together compared to some. I had a relatively modest hall as well. Picked up the steel phalanx starter box, my son picked up a blister and we also bought some d20s each to match our armies
    ;0) must be a universal consciousness thing! Picked up a few other bits and pieces including the Infinity beta bag from Battlefoam and Lords of War card game. My son and I had a demo game and it was one of those easy to learn, difficult to master. I was also off last week but was down in Centerparcs with the family. Used the new beta bag to take some paints and a couple of Dakini Tacbots with me but didn’t get a chance to do anything with them. Hoping to get some bits done this weekend so will hopefully have a bank holiday update. All the best Pete.

  3. Leeman says:

    Hi Pete,

    Likewise, was good to meet you too! I’m looking forward to seeing some more progress on your models (and I’m glad I’m not the only one with matching D20s! How have you found the Battlefoam bags? I’ve never picked one up!

Leave a Reply

