Brushwork – Friday 18th April

Aleph Rebot - click to enlarge

I’ve been lucky enough to have the week off post-Salute, and it’s given me a really good amount of time to get some painting done. This week I finalised my colour scheme for my Myrmidons, and began to put the base-coat on all of them (as usual, I paint one model to completion first as a test for the colour scheme, then carry it across to the rest of the models in the unit). I also decided to tackle the mighty Ajax, as he’s a lovely model that I’ve been itching to paint!

Before all of that though, I also completed my Zayin Rebot. Because of the size of the model, I decided to do a little more work on it than I would for an infantry model. Also, because of the smooth armour plates, I figured my usual two-stage highlight would look a little odd (like it did on my Cutter), so I did a bit of blending on a palette, adding in an extra two stages – I started with Naggaroth Night for the basecoat, then a 50/50 Nagarroth Night and Xereus Purple mix for the first stage, followed by pure Xereus Purple, then a 50/50 Xereus Purple/Genestealer Purple mix, followed by a final highlight of Genestealer Purple. The green areas were the usual P3 Coal Black, with a Sybarite and Kabalite Green highlight, while the lenses were Dark Angels Green, followed by Snot Green and Scorpion Green, with a dot of white in the top corner. The metallic areas was simply Leadbelcher washed with Asurman Blue:

Aleph Rebot - click to enlarge
Aleph Rebot – click to enlarge
Aleph Rebot - click to enlarge
Aleph Rebot – click to enlarge

Next up is my Myrmidon with Combi Rifle, which I’ve tweaked slightly since the last time you saw him – I decided that he had a little too much purple on him, so I changed the non-armoured areas on his undersuit to very dark grey. I’m pretty pleased with him now:

Myrmidon with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Myrmidon with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge

And of course, here’s the rest of his friends with basecoats on, which I’ll be finishing off over the next few weeks:

Myrmidon Officer with Boarding Shotgun (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Myrmidon Officer with Boarding Shotgun (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Aleph Myrmidons (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Aleph Myrmidons (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I want the officer to stand out a little (as she’s a bit short otherwise), so she’ll be getting some red hair (although I’ve gone in a little too orange at this stage, so I’ll have to re-do her hair). The rest of the Myrmidons will look the same as the Combi Rifle chap.

Finally, here’s the biggest Myrmidon of them all, Ajax the Great!

Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge
Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge
Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge
Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge
Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge

I went to town on his armour plates, giving them about 6 or 7 stages of highlights, mixing Naggaroth Night, Xereus and Genestealer Purple to blend it up. After a little bit of discussion with my regular opponent and painter-extraordinare Darren, I’m going to add an extra highlight stage to him to really make his armour pop, as it’s a little too subtle at the moment.

Still, I’m pretty pleased with him, as I don’t often do the whole blending thing. I also need to do a little more work on his bag – I may even change the colour of it as currently it blends in too much with his grey under-armour.

In terms of gaming this week, I took the Steel Phalanx out for a spin vs my other regular opponent, Adam with his Japanese Sectorial Army – unfortunately it was a bit of a bloodbath and my Phalanx got decimated pretty quickly! I also got in some games today against Darren with his new Morats – for the first game I took the Phalanx again, and also got hammered! I think I need to re-think the way I’m using them, as I must be doing something wrong! For my second game with Darren today I went back to regular Aleph, and the game was a lot closer, coming down to the last couple of orders and dice rolls before the winner was decided – in my opinion, those are the best kind of games!

Monday will see another day of gaming since it’s another Bank Holiday, and both Adam and Darren are joining me for some 20-sided dice related fun! I’ll see if I can snap a few pics and write a little post about it, as I’ve got some additional thoughts on YAMS now that we’ve been playing it for a year or so.

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Friday 18th April

  1. rexlogan says:

    I’ll be looking forward to thoughts on YAMS. We just tried it last weekend and it would be cool to see if our own concerns about balance would be addressed by more plays and more experienced players.

  2. fleshandmetal says:

    Cheers for the painting complements! I know blending is time consuming, but Ajax really stands out because of it. Which is fitting as he is a beast on the table top!

    The second game really was close. I thought I blown in early on, but thankfully I had a lot of objectives tied into getting a model into your deployment zone and was just able to do that. We will have to see how the forces of Corregidor do on Monday!:)

Leave a Reply

