Brushwork – Sunday 11th May

Aleph Posthumans - click to enlarge

I’ve been able to have a very productive day today painting – I’ve been a bit busy this past week and a bit, and although I’ve been gaming I’ve not had a chance to break out the paints and brushes until today. However, I’ve made a good amount of progress, which I’m pretty happy with!

First off, I decided to finish off Ajax properly. He was lacking something before, and that was the additional colour on his bag, so I painted it up in brown to give a little more colour to the model and make it look more interesting. The bag was painted in Scorched Brown, washed with Agrax Earthshade then highlighted up through Scorched Brown, to Mournfang Brown and up a little more towards Bleached Bone with about 6 highlight stages of varying mixes:

Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge
Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge
Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge
Ajax - click to enlarge
Ajax – click to enlarge

At the suggestion of Darren, I also added a few more highlights to his armour plates to give them a little more ‘pop’ (Ugh, I hate that word).

Continuing the Aleph theme today, I worked on my Ekdromoi with HMG:

Ekdromoi with HMG - click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG – click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG - click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG – click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG - click to enlarge
Ekdromoi with HMG – click to enlarge

As with Ajax and my rebot, I decided that because the purple was the predominant colour, I’d highlight it up with an extra stage by mixing a colour (in this case, a 50/50 of Naggaroth Night and Xereus Purple).

Next up was my Naga with Monofilament Mines:

Naga with Monofilament Mines - click to enlarge
Naga with Monofilament Mines – click to enlarge
Naga with Monofilament Mines - click to enlarge
Naga with Monofilament Mines – click to enlarge

Next, I decided to finally finish off the other two Posthumans that I’ve not been putting off for a while now:

Posthuman Mk 1 - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk 1 – click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk 1 - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk 1 – click to enlarge

I kept the colours on the Mark 1 the same as the other version for ease (and the fact that they’re all multiple proxy bodies for the same person, I would assume they’d keep their looks fairly standard).

For the Mark 3 heavy infantry version, I decided on a more garish hair colour, as she’s essentially like the Asuras (but without the Multi-Spectral Visor), and so would choose to be as flamboyant and showy as they are.

Posthuman Mk 3 - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk 3 – click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk 3 - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk 3 – click to enlarge

Here’s a shot of all 4 Posthumans together:

Aleph Posthumans - click to enlarge
Aleph Posthumans – click to enlarge

I was so pleased with the Mark 3’s hair colour, that I decided to repaint my Asuras too, as I was never truly happy with their hair colours. I think this makes them stand out far better!:

Asuras - click to enlarge
Asuras – click to enlarge

Finally, I managed to finish off the rest of my Myrmidons – I’d hit a bit of a wall with them, psychologically speaking. I think it’s down to the fact that Infinity miniatures are all so wonderfully individual that painting multiples of the same model just feels like a bit of a chore! God knows how I managed it with 40k armies! Anyway, I digress – Myrmidons:

Aleph Myrmidons - click to enlarge
Aleph Myrmidons – click to enlarge

And here they are along with the two I’d completed previously:

Aleph Myrmidons - click to enlarge
Aleph Myrmidons – click to enlarge

All I have left to finish now is my Chandra Spec Ops and then I can work on my Marut. I’m hoping to get the rest of the Aleph done before the end of this month, then after that I’ve got quite a few PanO models to get painted!

4 thoughts on “Brushwork – Sunday 11th May

  1. fleshandmetal says:

    Ajax looks awesome! I alao really like the hair on the Asuras and mk3, makes them stand out as the imposing models that they are!:)

  2. daggerandbrush says:

    As always a very nice result. Tidy finish, highlights exactly where they are needed, just beautiful. The only thing I would suggest is to bring some variation to the bases. Maybe make a sci-fi press mold and stamp your bases?

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks! I’ll actually be switching to Antenociti’s Workshop Hex bases now, as they both match the look of my bases, plus they add some much-needed variety to the look! You can see a few of them in the previous post on the Military Orders stuff.

Leave a Reply

