Nominated for a Liebster Award

Liebster Award

I was informed yesterday that the wonderful Certs, of Certs Tabletop fame has nominated me for a Liebster Award! I’m very flattered to have been noticed by another blogger, especially one whose blog I hold in high regard, and regularly read and enjoy.

For those unfamiliar with the Liebster Awards, the best info I could dig up on them can be found here and here. I must admit, while I’d seen mention of them before on various blogs, I didn’t actually know much about it until now!

Liebster Award
Liebster Award

So, a Liebster award is given to bloggers with less than 200 followers (at the time of writing, I have 57 followers, which is 56 more than I was expecting to get when I first started!) in an effort to increase exposure and grant a little bit of recognition to these bloggers. In addition to this, the nominee has to in turn nominate their own choices (some say up to 5, other places up to 11) for Liebster awards, and answer a few relevant questions about themselves and their blog.

Without further ado then, my nominees for Liebster Awards:

Eternal Hunt – I enjoy seeing great conversion work, where the conversion is so subtle and well done that it looks every bit as good as an ‘official’ release – author Krautscientist does some fantastic work on his models, with poses looking natural and more than just ‘some bits slapped together’.

Sho3box – Reading Sho3box’s posts about his Pulp Alley exploits reminds me of what got me into the hobby in the first place – watching a fantastic story unfold on the tabletop, while getting to see some wonderful miniatures and terrain in the process – something that I found was definitely lacking in 40k of recent years, where it’s all about ‘more of everything and some big stuff’ rather than the characterful groups of old. Sho3box does a fantastic job of bringing his worlds to life while showcasing some of his fantastic models!

GK Workbench – G1ngerK1d was my biggest inspiration for my PanOceania colour scheme – I’d initially written off red as a colour for them when first starting out on account of my Saim Hann Eldar also being predominantly red – after a bit of Google-ing and deliberation, I spotted his models while doing an image search and was hooked – I adapted the scheme a fair bit so as to avoid copying it directly, and I think it’s safe to say our schemes are suitably different!

Rise of Rlyeh – Written by one of my regular opponents, Darren Ivey. (I realise this may come across as a bit of favouritism here, but I simply can’t let his blog go un-noticed by the masses!). I regularly get trashed by his fantastically painted models, and it’s a crime that there aren’t more pictures of his stuff on the internet (perhaps this nomination will spur him on to take some more photographs and blog about them!). There are images of his incredible models on there (such as here, here and here), but you’ll have to dig past his other posts to find them (not that his other posts aren’t worth reading, of course – they offer some great thoughts and insight into Infinity and related products!

The second part of being nominated for a Liebster Award is answering a few questions, so onto those:

Why did you start blogging?

I wanted a quick and simple way to show off some of my models where they wouldn’t get buried and lost under other forum posts. This way, everything I’ve done gets compiled in one handy place rather than scattered all over the Internet like it used to be!

If you could change one thing about the wargaming hobby, what would it be?

That’s a difficult one – I’m in a pretty good place right now hobby-wise, so there’s not a lot I would want to change. Cost, as always, although there are many, many reasons why the costs will never go down.

What is best in life? 

Wow, getting deep and meaningful now! I guess I would say that a having a happy home and family is best in life. I feel extremely privileged to say that I have that already.

Do you want to live forever?

Only if everyone else I loved did too, otherwise there’d be no point.

Fame or fortune?

Fortune, definitely – I could then afford all the things I’d ever want (materialistic, me?) as well as help people less fortunate than myself.

What miniatures are you most proud of having painted? 

Ooh, tough call – I’ve painted so many things in the past 20 years (many of which I no longer own due to difficult financial circumstances a few years ago) that I couldn’t name just one single model. I guess I’m pretty proud of my current collection of Infinity models, which is a far better ratio of painted to unpainted than either of my 40k armies!

How do you deal with burn out?

The simplest way – take a break from it. As it stands currently, free time for hobbying is a precious resource, and so I rarely suffer from burn out. On those rare occasions that I do, luckily for me I’ve got a second hobby in the form of videogames, which I sometimes play online with friends, so on those days I’m on a painting/wargaming low, I’ll fire up the Xbox and text a few friends.

Why is a raven like a writing desk?

It isn’t – Google led me to the actual answer for this, however. Some clever-clogs evidently wanted to come across as a literary genius when they posed this question. I thumb my nose at thee, good sir.

Star Wars or Star Trek?

Star Wars – as a child growing up in the 80s, Star Wars was far more easily accessible to me (and had way cooler toys). That said, I do have a soft spot for Star Trek in it’s many guises, but I’m certainly no ‘Trekkie’.

If you could only buy from one miniature company from now on, which would it be?

Simple – Corvus Belli. Their sculpts have always been really good (with a few infrequent exceptions), and their recent transition to 3D sculpting has sent their standard even higher. Every model feels like a work of art!

What is your favourite takeaway?

Definitely Indian – I love a bit of curry with rice and a naan bread!

And with that, I’ll leave it to my nominees to continue the Liebster chain! Once again, a big “Thank You!” to Certs for nominating me in the first place!

4 thoughts on “Nominated for a Liebster Award

  1. 40kterminatus says:

    Can I be the 1st person to say, freaking well done and just keep going.

    Always nice to get some recognition in life 🙂

  2. Leeman says:

    Thanks! Just knowing that people even read my blog is recognition enough for me, this simply icing on an already great cake! 🙂

  3. CrispyPete says:

    Hi Lee, congrats just catching up on my reading and really well done for the award. Well deserved. Just had no time recently myself but hope to get painting and hopefully playing soon!

Leave a Reply

