Brushwork – Wednesday 4th June

Marut TAG - click to enlarge

I’m on a bit of a roll this week, it would seem! With the Summer Challenge only a little over 3 weeks away, I’ve been furiously painting things that I don’t actually need to take! As with the previous two ITS events I’ve been to, I’ve been in a good position and had everything painted way ahead of time, so now all of my painting has been ‘just for fun’. This short post is dedicated to the last unpainted Aleph model in my collection*, the mighty Marut TAG.

* Of course, my Aleph collection is still set to grow, so you haven’t seen the last of my purple AI constructs!

As with Ajax, I’ve blended the purple highlights on the model, since it’s such a centrepiece, and a two-stage highlight would look too jarring at this scale. It’s my usual Naggaroth Night/Xerius Purple/Genestealer Purple setup, with various mixes of each colour in between them. I also added a final highlight stage of Genestealer Purple mixed with White Scar to really bring it out, although I used this stage sparingly around the model.

The weapon was P3 Coal Black, highlighted with Kabalite and Sybarite Green (and this time I actually mixed a couple of extra highlight stages in there, too). The sword is a little difficult to see from these angles, but the blade was painted with Leadbelcher before being given a coat of an old metallic blue that GW used to do (I forget the name now), then washed with Asurmen Blue wash.

Marut TAG - click to enlarge
Marut TAG – click to enlarge
Marut TAG - click to enlarge
Marut TAG – click to enlarge
Marut TAG - click to enlarge
Marut TAG – click to enlarge
Marut TAG - click to enlarge
Marut TAG – click to enlarge

So, with all of my Aleph done (group shot coming soon), I’m free to move back to my PanO, who’ve been a bit neglected of late! I’ve started work on my Machinist and a converted Forward Observer Fusilier (I’ve given her an eye piece from Greenstuff, although it’s a little difficult to see in this image:

Machinist and Forward Observer (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Machinist and Forward Observer (work in progress) – click to enlarge
2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Wednesday 4th June

Leave a Reply

