Brushwork – Monday 9th June

All Aleph Models (8th June 2014) - click to enlarge

The painting frenzy continues, and with bleary eyes on Sunday (after a bit of a house party the night before), I decided to tackle my Machinist and Forward Observer conversion. It’s been a while since I’ve painted any PanO figures, and this was a nice refreshing change from all the blacks and purples of my Aleph which have been centre-stage for the past 9 months or so.

I’ll start with the Machinist. Not long after I got into Infinity, Corvus Belli started consolidating a lot of single blister figures into box sets, including Doctors, Engineers and the small Ghost: Servant remotes for each faction. I’d already purchased 3 out of the 4 models from the new PanO Support Pack, and so considered myself out of luck getting hold of a Machinist model. This wasn’t a huge deal really, as the games I was playing at the time rarely warranted needing an Engineer of any kind, so I’d often just forget about him. However, after playing a few games of Paradiso with Darren, it became apparent that I could probably do with one. Luckily for me, Arcane Miniatures still had some old stock of the Machinist in a single blister, and so I snapped one up.

The Machinist model gets a lot of stick in the Infinity community, although I think this is unfair criticism.

Machinist - painted by Angel Giraldez
Machinist – painted by Angel Giraldez

The above image shows the studio scheme for the Machinist model, painted by Corvus Belli’s painter Angel Giraldez. Stunning work on the stubble and other details, I think you’ll agree. What doesn’t help is the combination of the angle of photography, and the colours chosen – long blonde locks combined with stubble and coloured wires make for a strange explosion of colours which looks a little ‘off’. Also, the pose actually makes sense from both a combat and visual perspective – he’s leaning/hunching forward with his wrench oustretched to repair something, while simultaneously tapping on the keypad attached to his fatigues. Keeping his head down under fire is also a sensible option! However, due to the angle the image is taken from, he just appears as a hunchback! Personally, I really like the model and I’m glad I’ve been able to pick this guy up without any major expense. Granted, his WIP of 12 isn’t great so I’m not holding out much hope of him repairing anything, but it should make for some fun games, all the same!

Anyway, enough of the waffle, here’s my version:

Machinist - click to enlarge
Machinist – click to enlarge
Machinist - click to enlarge
Machinist – click to enlarge
Machinist - click to enlarge
Machinist – click to enlarge

I went for a more youthful, clean-shaven look on my model, with darker hair and less colours on the cables etc draped over him so as not to detract from the rest of him. I think I may revisit him though to add some colour to the little orb-shapes on his back – possibly turn them into lights to give a little more colour to him from the rear.

Next up is my second Fusilier Forward Observer conversion:

Fusilier Forward Observer (conversion) - click to enlarge
Fusilier Forward Observer (conversion) – click to enlarge
Fusilier Forward Observer (conversion) - click to enlarge
Fusilier Forward Observer (conversion) – click to enlarge

As with the previous Forward Observer I converted, I sculpted a targeter over her right eye with green stuff. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to modify her rifle like I did for the other one, but hopefully the eyepiece is enough to make her stand out from a regular Fusilier. I gave this one lighter coloured hair compared to her ‘twin’ (this is a repeat of a sculpt I already own). I also decided that this particular Fusilier still decided to doll herself up a bit before a battle, so gave her a little eyeshadow and lipstick!

Fusilier Forward Observer (conversion) detail - click to enlarge
Fusilier Forward Observer (conversion) detail – click to enlarge

The eye shadow was a quick swipe of green ink above her eye, the lipstick was done by mixing Dheneb Stone with the old Scab Red to make a pink colour – I wanted it to appear subtle rather than too full on, which I was worried would make her appear too clown-like on a model this scale.

In preparation for my Military Orders reinforcements, I decided to finally settle on a Knightly Order for my Order Sergeants to actually hail from. After doing a bit of research online, I found this post on Beast of War, and after reading it I decided on the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre, since they have a nice colour combination on their robes, which won’t clash with the red of my PanO:

Holy Sepulchre Heraldry - click to enlarge
Holy Sepulchre Heraldry – click to enlarge

With that decided on, I’ve applied the colours to the robes of my painted Order Sergeant with Spitfire, and added a freehand symbol to his chest. It’s a bit sloppy, so I’ll neaten it up soon:

Order Sergeant with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Order Sergeant with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Order Sergeant with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Order Sergeant with Spitfire – click to enlarge

Finally for this post, here’s an image of all of my Aleph models to-date. I played around with the aperture settings on my camera a bit, which has enabled me to get it all pretty much in focus. Unfortunately the stuff at the back looks a little dark but since I’ve shown them in previous posts already, I figure I can live with that for this image (be warned, it’s quite large!) :

All Aleph Models (8th June 2014) - click to enlarge
All Aleph Models (8th June 2014) – click to enlarge

For those wondering, this is a total of 995pts with 16 SWC! Probably not something I’d ever use all at once (the game would take all day!), but it’s nice to total these things up now and again!

7 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 9th June

  1. sho3box says:

    Great progress. I love to see someone getting stuck in, good stuff 🙂

    The “house” Machinist palette is a bit busy. A little restraint has made the figure far cooler looking in my opinion.

  2. fleshandmetal says:

    Fantastic painting as always. I too prefer the scheme on your Machinist. It’s also very cool to see all the Aleph together, it’s a really great collection.

  3. Leeman says:

    Thanks guys! Pretty surprised how quickly the Aleph built up, and really pleased with the Machinist! If only his stats matched how cool he looks!

  4. fleshandmetal says:

    One cool things about a Machinist, is that as all Pan-O TAGs have remote presence they can be repaid from both the Unconscious and Dead state. Although to be fair with a WIP of 12, the Machinist might still bodge it all up!

    1. Leeman says:

      That’s handy to know – but yes, I expect with that lowly Willpower stat, I can’t see it happening many times! Might have to invest in some mercenary support!

Leave a Reply

