Brushwork – Saturday 28th June

Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge

It’s one day before the Summer Challenge (well, for me at least – some of the guys are already down there gaming as I write this) and I’ve been furiously painting – although as usual, I’m already up to speed with everything for the event, so this wasn’t exactly a panic-paintjob!

Since it was my birthday earlier in the week, I decided to treat myself to some new Tohaa – a guy on the Infinity Facebook group was selling a whole stack of them so I’ve paid him and just have to wait for them to arrive. Should give me a good selection of stuff to make lists from when it does! In preparation for their arrival, I’ve painted up my Gao Rael, and here he is:

Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge

As with Aelis Keesan, his colours are inspired by Garrus from Mass Effect – the rest of my Tohaa will share these colours in some form. In order to prevent the model looking too dark, I’ve gone with a pale grey/off-white face plate.

The colours used are the old Foundation blue (Mordian Blue), washed with Asurman Blue, then a re-coat of Mordian, leaving the ink in the recesses – (with hindsight, I could probably just line the recesses with the ink), then a first highlight stage of Ultramarines Blue, followed by a blue that’s so old I can’t even remember the name of it (it’s not Ice Blue, it’s a little duller than that, but it’s not Shadow Grey…). Anyway, that’s how I do the blue armour!

I wanted the Symbiont Armour to remain fairly true to the studio colours (a bright orange), but I reasoned this would look a little off next to dark blue armour, so I toned it down a little by painting it Blazing Orange, followed by a wash of Agrax Earthshade. I then gave this a quick drybrush of Blazing Orange.

The cloak/hood and other black areas were painted Abbadon Black, then highlighted with a 50/50 mix of Abbadon Black and Charadon Granite, before a pure highlight of Charadon Granite.

The face plate was Celetra Grey followed by White Scar as a line highlight. I shaded it with some Nuln Oil in the recesses and added a couple of spots of Wild Rider Red on the eye lenses. I may highlight these with Blazing Orange at some stage.

The Spitfire was painted Celestra Grey then given three successive coats of Thraka Green wash. The sword handle was painted with Naggaroth Night, and highlighted with Xerius Purple and Genestealer Purple, while the blade was painted in Leadbelcher and then given a coat of the old Citadel Glistening Green metallic colour (man I miss those colours!)

Here’s a few more angles of him, including one where I’ve lifted him a little to show his faceplate off:

Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge

I’m pretty pleased with him – hopefully when there’s a few more of them they’ll all look nice and coherent in their Fireteams on the table (I’m a bit of a stickler when forming units – I prefer them all to look good together, but Tohaa Fireteams work best with a decent mix, so I need to make sure they look coherent in their colours! Perhaps a little OCD of me, but it’s always jarred a little bit with me when units aren’t formed up of multiples!

Here’s a few pics of him next to Aelis for completeness/comparison:

Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Aelis Keesan and Gao Rael with Spitfire – click to enlarge

Next up is a commission job of some Ultramarines for a friend! (that and any other bits I come back from the Summer Challenge with!)

7 thoughts on “Brushwork – Saturday 28th June

  1. CrispyPete says:

    The blue armour is really great but what I really love is the subtle shading of the black on the head. I can never get that look right. Really envious of your speed and dedication whilst still turning out really quality paint jobs!

    1. Leeman says:

      Cheers Pete! I’ve only recently started experimenting with highlighting black – normally I don’t tend to bother, but I figured I’d give it a try. The key is to make the first couple of stages very subtle – only really possible by mixing paint.

  2. daggerandbrush says:

    Good stuff as usual. I agree, her ivory face ereally stands out and adds not only interest, but also introduces another colour to make the whole model more dynamic.

  3. Leeman says:

    Thanks guys! The ivory look was quite easy to achieve – Dheneb Stone (or Rakarth Flesh as it’s called these days) followed by a wash of Agrax Earthshade, then a highlight of the same pale flesh colour on the skin (I left the ‘hair’ alone at this stage)!

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks! I’m very pleased with her! I have set myself a challenge of having a fully painted list in time for a tournament at the end of this month! Stay tuned for more Tohaa! 🙂

Leave a Reply

