Brushwork – Wednesday 9th July

I’ve continued my painting frenzy this week, in an effort to get the Tohaa ready before this Saturday when I and three friends get together for a full day of Infinity, in an ITS round-robin at the flat – I’ll detail a little more after the day’s events, as there should be some great games going on, and the four of us have known each other quite a while, so it’s likely to be a great day!

Last night, I concentrated on one of the least-liked models in the range (if the opinions of the forums are anything to go by, at any rate!) – Neema Saatar.

I can kind of see where the playerbase is coming from when you look at her compared to the far bulkier Ectros models (a regiment she’s part of and shares equipment with). The scale of her compared to them is completely different – she’s in a much smaller, sleeker set of armour compared to the bulkier males. I think also, part of the dislike for her stems from her pose, which is a lot less ‘on the battlefield’ and more ‘at a photoshoot’ unfortunately. The studio paint scheme hasn’t done her any favours either, as it emphasizes the large head-dress/helmet she’s wearing far more than it did in her artwork.

I’ve left the spines darker than her helmet which hopefully keeps the focus on the front part rather than framing it and making it look too massive. I’ve also tweaked her pose slightly – luckily the head is seperate, so I re-attached it (this was bought 2nd hand) with a turn to the side, to hopefully make it look a little more interesting:

Neema Satar - click to enlarge
Neema Satar – click to enlarge
Neema Satar - click to enlarge
Neema Satar – click to enlarge
Neema Satar - click to enlarge
Neema Satar – click to enlarge
Neema Satar - click to enlarge
Neema Satar – click to enlarge

Annoyingly I’ve just noticed that she’s missing the little knee-spikes to go on the tops of her knee-pads, but never mind – I don’t think she’s missing anything for it (and I could always sculpt some for her if it bothers me too much). She’s grown on me as a model – I can’t help but feel they’ve missed the mark a little with her compared to her artwork, where she looks as imposing as an Ectros yet still individual enough to stand out.

So, this side of Saturday, I still have another 10 models to complete. You’ve seen the Chaksa and Makauls in my last post, and I’m aiming to at least get everyone to the stage of the Makauls for Saturday, ready for highlights and detailing ready for the tournament at the end of the month.

Here’s the rest of the progress I’ve made:

Gao Tarsos with HMG, Gao Rael Sniper and Gao Tarsos with Combi Rifle (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Gao Tarsos with HMG, Gao Rael Sniper and Gao Tarsos with Combi Rifle (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Clipsos Infiltrator, Sakiel with Viral Combi Rifle and Kamael Light Infantry (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Clipsos Infiltrator, Sakiel with Viral Combi Rifle and Kamael Light Infantry (work in progress) – click to enlarge
7 thoughts on “Brushwork – Wednesday 9th July

  1. fleshandmetal says:

    It’s great to see more Tohaa. Don’t know how you are painting these so fast and keeping the standards so high, but it’s working!:)

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks! I wanted to make sure they’re at least tabletop standard before our 4-man day of gaming on Saturday! The pressure’s on!

  2. sho3box says:

    You make solid progress through this stuff all the time, nice work.

    Are you a fast painter? Do you spend a lot of time at the painting table. Im not a very fast painter, but I do try to spend some time working on things every day that Im at home and for as much time at weekends that I can manage and it all adds up.

    Do you just put in the graft or do you have another trick? Im always looking for painting hacks 🙂

  3. Leeman says:

    I wouldn’t necessarily say I was fast – I have a very understanding fiancee, and I’m able to squeeze in a bit of painting both in the evenings and before work most days. I tend to have bursts of productivity like this, then a couple of weeks off.

    I guess I do tend to speed things up with washes and drybrushing where I can, and I rarely mix highlights, preferring instead to use colours out of the pot (although lately for bigger models I’m taking a little more time to blend properly).

  4. daggerandbrush says:

    I said it before, but I think this colour scheme really works and looks plain beautiful. I also think you hit a sweet spot between producing very nice looking miniatures and the time you need to finish them. I think the only imrpovement I could see is to add a bit more interest to the base. Depending on the faction’s background it might be an idea to add foliage, dead leaves and some higher bushes.

  5. Leeman says:

    Thank you for the kind words 🙂

    I think you’re right – the bases have bugged me a little – I’ve got a little bit of foliage I could try adding – I’ll give it a go and post the results!

  6. Feuryr says:

    Amazing minis. You nailed the Symbiont armor on these, and the color scheme is beautiful. I have trouble painting the Symbiont armor on my own minis, I just cant give them a natural look. Whatever you are doing, it works well.

Leave a Reply

