Brushwork – Sunday 13th July

Makaul - click to enlarge

After a crazy week at the painting table, I managed to get everything done in time for the 4-man ITS day that I and 3 friends have had planned.

I’ve shown some of the progress shots over the last week, but now I’ve finished the rest, so it’s time to write a blog post to show them off – they’re a little sloppy, so I may revisit them at some point to neaten them up, but they’ll suffice for now.

First off, the Makaul, who have quickly become my favourites with their Zero V smoke! As I mentioned in an earlier post, I made sure that their shoulders were painted to look more like armour than in the flesh tones that the studio models have – I think this has improved their look in my eyes, as they now appear less like barbarians and more like crazy hyped-up alien warriors with close combat weapons:

Makaul - click to enlarge
Makaul – click to enlarge
Makaul - click to enlarge
Makaul – click to enlarge

Next is my Sakiel with Viral Combi Rifle – a nice Symbiont Armoured model who can prove quite useful:

Sakiel with Viral Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Sakiel with Viral Combi Rifle – click to enlarge
Sakiel with Viral Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Sakiel with Viral Combi Rifle – click to enlarge

Once I got this guy done, I cracked on with the Gao Tarsos, a pair of drop troopers who are great fun to use – again, these guys have Symbiont Armour, which means they can take a couple of hits before dropping:

Gao Tarsos - click to enlarge
Gao Tarsos – click to enlarge

My Gao Rael Sniper was next in line – he’s one of my favourite models in the range, despite the popular opinion being that he’s a bit underwhelming on the table (MSV2, Damage 15 Burst 3 when in a link is underwhelming? Okay…)

Gao Rael with Sniper RIfle - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Sniper RIfle – click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Sniper RIfle - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Sniper RIfle – click to enlarge

Next was the Hatail Spec Ops and a Kamael Light Infantry model. The Kamael was my stand-in for a Kumotail Bioengineer, which I’ve yet to purchase:

Hatail Spec Ops and Kamael Light Infantry - click to enlarge
Hatail Spec Ops and Kamael Light Infantry – click to enlarge

I actually left a small piece of flash on the back of the Hatail’s helmet – it’s meant to be totally rounded, but this piece of flash was in the perfect position to look like a small antenna, so I left it there!

Lastly is by far my favourite Tohaa model – the Clipsos with Combi Rifle. I love the way the sculptor has conveyed some real motion with her pose – the way the cloak is sweeping out to both sides really helps to show her darting forwards from her position:

Clipsos with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Clipsos with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge
Clipsos with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Clipsos with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge
Clipsos with Combi Rifle - click to enlarge
Clipsos with Combi Rifle – click to enlarge

Today’s a double-post from me as I’ll be writing up yesterday’s events – stay tuned!

One thought on “Brushwork – Sunday 13th July

Leave a Reply

