Construction Work – Sunday 3rd August

Kaplan with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge

Took a bit of a break from painting this week after the tournament, and instead I treated myself to some new bases from Antenociti’s Workshop ready to base up the unbuilt models I had knocking around.

First off, I cracked on with the rest of the Neoterran Starter box that I got back in June. All fairly standard stuff for the most part – a pair of Bolts, plus a Swiss Guard with Missile Launcher (I’m selling the Aquila Guard off since I already have two of that particular sculpt already).

Neoterra Bolts (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Neoterra Bolts (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Swiss Guard with Missile Launcher (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Swiss Guard with Missile Launcher (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The last model from this box is the Hexa with Spitfire, but since I already owned this model, I had plans for him. When I acquired the Military Orders models earlier in the year, I ended up with a duplicate Order Sergeant, and since my first Hexa with Spitfire had ended up with an extra set of arms, I switched the Combi Rifle around with the Spitfire to have a standard Order Sergeant with Spitfire (and no MSV2, which was handy since there’s an option for that in the army list). This meant that I had a spare Combi Rifle arm, and this was perfect for the Hexa from this box. I figured since he was a Hacker he’d have some extra equipment on his helmet, which would help me recognise him on the battlefield!

Converted Hexa Hacker (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Converted Hexa Hacker (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Converted Hexa Hacker (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Converted Hexa Hacker (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Stupidly, I tried to widen his left eyepiece, and it’s left it looking a little scrappy, so I may smooth it out with a little more Green Stuff before I continue painting him.

Staying with the PanO side of things, I also acquired Indigo Brother Konstantinos, in a split with a friend, who wanted Yasbir:

Indigo Brother Konstantinos (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Indigo Brother Konstantinos (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Indigo Brother Konstantinos (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Indigo Brother Konstantinos (work in progress) – click to enlarge

This guy was in a lot of pieces, but the end result is worth it as he’s a wonderfully animated model. I can’t wait to get him painted up and actually use him in a game!

Back when we did our 4-man ITS tournament, I ended up acquiring a Dasyu Hacker as one of the random blisters sent to us in the Tournament Pack, so I’ve finally built her:

Dasyu Hacker (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Dasyu Hacker (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I had to drill out the back of her head a bit and trim the end of her overly-long ponytail to fashion a bit of a pin from it, to go into the hole I’d made in the back of her head, as the join that’s been sculpted on is incredibly small!

When I bought all of my Tohaa, I ended up with a duplicate of the Gao Rael with Spitfire model, so I did a bit of a minor conversion on the duplicate, so that I can avoid having two models in the exact same pose if I decide to field a pair of them:

Gao Rael with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Gao Rael with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge

This was a simple conversion – I cut the hand off at the wrist, and I repositioned the arm to be at a different angle to how it’s meant to be placed. The effect is enough I think to tell them apart.

Lastly for this post, here’s the Kaplan with Spitfire which I bought so that I can have some extra Engineer models during my Paradiso games which I’ll be playing later this year (I keep saying it, but every time we get games in, we’re usually practicing for tournaments!):

Kaplan with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Kaplan with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Kaplan with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Kaplan with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Kaplan with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Kaplan with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge

For his colour scheme, I decided to revisit a familiar scheme from my Redeemers Space Marines – grey, black and white. I figure that this guy is a Mercenary, and the mercenaries I want to eventually collect (for a Qapu Khalqi sectorial) will likely share a similar colour scheme, or variation of it. I’ve gone for an olive green on his weapon as I want them to look a little less colourful than my other armies.

One of the useful things with Qapu Khalqi is that it has a mix of Nomad and Haqqislam units, and four of the 7 models that come with Operation Icestorm can be used in that Sectorial, so it’ll help me to determine a colour scheme for them too! I’ve already pre-ordered a box for myself, as those lovely new PanO models are too nice to pass up, and will find their way into my collection and games in the future, I’m sure! Operation Icestorm should arrive in mid-to-late September, so that gives me about 6 weeks between now and then to get the rest of my collection painted – I’m deliberately holding off buying any further models until these ones are painted up (and the 15 extra I’ll get from Icestorm will need painting up as quickly as possible so that I can get them fielded in my games!).

In terms of what I have left to paint, it’s the following:

The remaining models - click to enlarge
The remaining models – click to enlarge

In that image you can see (or rather, can’t, because I didn’t compose the shot brilliantly) the following:

  • Gao Rael with Spitfire
  • 2 Kamael Light Infantry with Combi Rifles
  • Chaksa Auxiliar with Guided Heavy Rocket Launcher
  • Ectros with Viral Combi Rifle
  • Kaplan Tactical Services trooper with Spitfire
  • Dasyu Hacker
  • 3 Order Sergeants with Combi Rifles
  • Order Sergeant with Multi Sniper Rifle
  • Order Sergeant with Spitfire
  • Magister Knight
  • Magister Knight with Missile Launcher
  • Indigo Brother Konstantinos
  • Knight of Montesa with Spitfire
  • Teutonic Knight with Spitfire
  • Knight Hospitalier with Multi Rifle
  • Hexa Hacker
  • 2 Neoterra Bolts
  • Swiss Guard with Missile Launcher
  • O-12 Commissioner

23 models and around 6-8 weeks to get them painted – the task has been set! Let’s see if I can get them all done before Icestorm arrives!

3 thoughts on “Construction Work – Sunday 3rd August

  1. WinterMute says:

    The painting challenge is a great idea. I might have to do the same, because as soon as I get my O:I Nomads I want to get straight onto them!

  2. rexlogan says:

    The ponytail situation sounds familiar, grin. When it comes to infinity, I pin almost everything, regardless of how sturdy it looks as is…

Leave a Reply

