Brushwork – Saturday 9th August

O-12 High Commissioner - click to enlarge

Took a few days off from the painting table this week, although I got back on it this weekend, completing 3 of the 23 unpainted models I mentioned last time, and started on a fourth!

First off, I completed my Hexa Hacker conversion:

Hexa Hacker conversion - click to enlarge
Hexa Hacker conversion – click to enlarge
Hexa Hacker conversion - click to enlarge
Hexa Hacker conversion – click to enlarge
Hexa Hacker conversion - click to enlarge
Hexa Hacker conversion – click to enlarge

I’m really pleased with the way he’s turned out – he’s different enough from the stock Hexa Spitfire model that it’s less obvious that they’re the same sculpt with only an arm swap and some greenstuff additions. I was able to disguise the wonky eye-piece, and the colour of the eyes are so bright that they almost appear to glow! If you want to see the standard Hexa to compare, here’s a link.

Next up I decided to complete my Kaplan with Spitfire:

Kaplan Tactical Services with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Kaplan Tactical Services with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Kaplan Tactical Services with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Kaplan Tactical Services with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Kaplan Tactical Services with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Kaplan Tactical Services with Spitfire – click to enlarge

I still need to finish his base off with some flock. Eagle-eyed readers will notice the little ‘homage’ to my Space Marine chapter, with his lightning bolt design on his shoulder pad. I added a spot colour of turquoise on the other shoulder pad, otherwise the model looked too dull.

Next on the table was my O-12 High Commissioner:

O-12 High Commissioner - click to enlarge
O-12 High Commissioner – click to enlarge
O-12 High Commissioner - click to enlarge
O-12 High Commissioner – click to enlarge
O-12 High Commissioner - click to enlarge
O-12 High Commissioner – click to enlarge
O-12 High Commissioner - click to enlarge
O-12 High Commissioner – click to enlarge

I wanted to try and do something different with his coat, so I highlighted it using Mournfang Brown rather than a grey which I would usually use, and I’m quite pleased with it.

Lastly for my Infinity models, I made a start on my Dasyu Hacker. Nothing out of the ordinary for her, just my usual Aleph colour scheme:

Dasyu Hacker (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Dasyu Hacker (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Dasyu Hacker (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Dasyu Hacker (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I’ve gone with the bright turquoise hair again for her, as it adds a nice spot-colour to an otherwise dark colour scheme.

In addition to the 23 (well, 20 now) unfinished Infinity models, I also have a commission job for a friend. Here’s the first model I’m working on as a test before I crack on with the rest (another 9 Assault Marines, a Command Squad, Chaplain and Razorback). His Ultramarines are 3rd company, and his request was that they weren’t adorned with all the scripture etc which I would normally add, and he wanted brown on the belts. Slightly different, but they’re his models, after all!

Ultramarine commission (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Ultramarine commission (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Ultramarine commission (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Ultramarine commission (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I’ll likely work on these on the side while finishing my Infinity stuff as these are a fairly quick job: one coat of Ultramarine Blue, a wash with Asurman Blue, re-paint the plates with Ultramarine Blue, leaving the wash in the recesses, then a single line highlight of the old pale blue that I own. The weapons are simply Leadbelcher washed with Nuln Oil, while the reds are Mephiston Red highlighted with Blazing Orange. I’ll finish all the main colours etc before I work on chapter symbols and squad markings.

That’s all from me this time around – more progress updates next time!

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Saturday 9th August

Leave a Reply

