Construction Work – Wednesday 15th October

Space Marine Bride and Groom - click to enlarge

With the build-up to the wedding (two and a half weeks away at the time of writing), it’s been a bit slow on the hobby front for me of late.

I was fortunate enough to attend Blast-Tastic a couple of weekends ago, which was good fun and pretty local. I had a go at some 6-10mm scale Sci-fi battle rules by Precinct Omega, which seemed pretty interesting, and are something I may look into deeper in the future. While I was there I picked up a copy of Operation Icestorm, which I’ve decided to use as the commission job, as my copy is still in the post – this way I can get the paid work out of the way since it’s all stacked up a little lately!

My friend didn’t want to buy extra bases but wanted them on urban-style bases, so after a bit of thought I decided the simplest way was to use a file and make some perpendicular lines to represent slab boundaries – with a suitable concrete colour they should look okay.

As has been said already on numerous blogs and review sites, the models are a breeze to put together and fit perfectly.

I’ll start with the PanO:

PanOceania Fusiliers (work in progress) - click to enlarge
PanOceania Fusiliers (work in progress) – click to enlarge

These new Fusiliers really put the old ones to shame, although I’m actually still a fan of the older models as well!

PanOceania ORC Trooper, Akal Commando and Nisse Sniper (work in progress) - click to enlarge
PanOceania ORC Trooper, Akal Commando and Nisse Sniper (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I’m really pleased with the new Akal sculpt in particular here, and while I’ll be sad to replace my existing ones, the new model is something I can’t wait to paint up in my colours!

Father Knight from PanOceania (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Father Knight from PanOceania (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I love how imposing this guy looks – how he performs on the table is another story, however!

Nomad Alguaciles (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Nomad Alguaciles (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Not having Nomads already, I’ve got nothing really to compare these guys to, but I do really like them.

Mobile Brigada, Grenz Sniper, Spektr (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada, Grenz Sniper, Spektr (work in progress) – click to enlarge

If anything could sell me on getting into Nomads, it’d be these three – fantastic looking stuff all-round!

Nomad Reverend Healer (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Nomad Reverend Healer (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The Reverend Healer is a nice model, but again, I’ve got nothing to compare her to!

Finally, here’s the CSU. Like the rest, I need to clean up the greenstuff ‘overspill’ that’s squeezed out of the joints. Once I’ve done that I’ll get them undercoated and start painting!

Corporate Security Unit (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Corporate Security Unit (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The PanO models are being painted with a blue scheme – my friend has opted for my cheaper option, so while they won’t have as much time spent on them as my own Infinity models, they’ll still have a tabletop quality paint job. I’ve made a start on this test scheme on the Acontecimento Regular I got at the last Challenge Event I went to:

Acontecimento Regular (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Acontecimento Regular (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Acontecimento Regular (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Acontecimento Regular (work in progress) – click to enlarge

His armour is painted in Cote D’arms Prussian Blue, washed with Asurmen Blue, then re-highlighted with Prussian Blue. The lighter areas are Celestra Grey and will be highlighted with Ceramite White (I’ve not reached this stage yet). Cloth areas are Ushabti Bone washed with Agrax Earthshade and left as-is. Finally, the pouches etc are Mournfang Brown washed with Agrax Earthshade. I will likely re-highlight these parts since they’re so prominent on this model.

I actually really like the colour scheme on this guy, so I look forward to translating it to the newer models. I’ll figure out what to do with the weapons as I go – I just went with black for now for the sake of speed.

Lastly for today’s post, as mentioned earlier, it’s a little over 2 weeks until my wedding day. Some of my family from overseas have started to arrive in the UK in preparation, and one of them brought me a wonderful gift from my cousin, who’s been into painting and gaming for a while now. He’s very talented, and his airbrush skills and scale model tanks are awesome to look at. His gift to me and my wife-to-be was this wonderful pieces:

Space Marine Bride and Groom - click to enlarge
Space Marine Bride and Groom – click to enlarge
Space Marine Bride and Groom - click to enlarge
Space Marine Bride and Groom – click to enlarge

As you can see, he’s sculpted the top hat out of green stuff, and even painted my Chapter badge on their shoulders and added rings on their ring fingers! Wonderful work and a very thoughtful gift! Thanks again, Dexter!

In my next post I’ll be making a start on the Icestorm figures, as well as finishing off some more Ultramarines!

3 thoughts on “Construction Work – Wednesday 15th October

  1. greggles says:

    The space marine bride and groom is great! Man those infinity models are looking really cool…must stop buying mini’s!

  2. 40kterminatus says:

    “To have and to hold thy bolter” loving that couple 🙂 All you need is a backdrop of a church(40k) and its perfect.

Leave a Reply

