Brushwork – Sunday 26th October

Commission Fusiliers - click to enlarge

Another short post from me today – I found some time this weekend to continue with commission work for a couple of friends – a second Fusilier has been completed, and the Alguacile, after some discussion, has had a slightly different colour scheme applied. I’ve also completed two more Ultramarines and found time to fit a test model in for my Dreadball team!

First off, the second Fusilier, pictured here alongside the first:

Commission Fusiliers - click to enlarge
Commission Fusiliers – click to enlarge
Commission Fusiliers - click to enlarge
Commission Fusiliers – click to enlarge

Pretty simple and effective colour scheme. The blue has grown on me quite a bit – I deliberately avoided the studio scheme for my own models but seeing these like this actually makes me sometimes wish I’d gone with it, although I do love my red PanO a lot!

Next is the Alguacile with her new colours, which I think look a lot better – the addition of the purple has really helped this model a lot, as having them in grey left them looking a bit dull:

Commission Alguacile - click to enlarge
Commission Alguacile – click to enlarge
Commission Alguacile - click to enlarge
Commission Alguacile – click to enlarge
Commission Alguacile - click to enlarge
Commission Alguacile – click to enlarge

With these two done, I went back to my other commission, the Ultramarines. I much prefer to break things up when painting multiple models – I get so fed up of painting the same kinds of models over and over, so it’s much nicer to swap to a different model/style of painting after a model or two to prevent any boredom or burnout.

Commission Ultramarines - click to enlarge
Commission Ultramarines – click to enlarge

Lastly for this quick post, my Dreadball robot test piece. As I mentioned earlier in the post, I really like the studio PanO colour scheme, and so it seemed logical to use it again on my Dreadball team. Also, I mentioned before that I wanted to use a Transformers colour scheme on them as well, to hark back to my childhood, and this has worked quite nicely as these colours are reminiscent of the Autobot Blurr:

Autobot Blurr
Autobot Blurr

So, two birds with one stone really! It’s not an exact match, but it’s close enough for me:

Dreadball Robot - click to enlarge
Dreadball Robot – click to enlarge
Dreadball Robot - click to enlarge
Dreadball Robot – click to enlarge

I need to revisit his highlights behind the head as I messed them up a bit. I plan to make the eye colour different depending on the position (Guard, Jack or Striker). Guards will be red like the above, and I’ve not decided on the other eye colours – probably green and either yellow or purple for the other two positions.

Anyway, that’s enough waffle from me! See you next time!

3 thoughts on “Brushwork – Sunday 26th October

  1. WinterMute says:

    Really like the purple on the Alguacile.

    Robot Dreadball team player is very cool. I really like the idea of different colour eyes for the different player positions. Will make it a lot easier to tell them apart!:)

  2. Lee says:

    Thanks guys. The blue has really grown on me as a colour – nice and bright which should help the models stand out a little on the table! Doubly so on a Dreadball pitch!

Leave a Reply

