Brushwork – Thursday 13th November

It’s been a bit of a race to get this commission job done in time for Warfare this weekend – I’m pleased to say I’ve reached the finish line – it’s been fun painting something else for a change, although I did find myself wondering many times how I ever managed to keep going with painting an army where everything’s the same or similar!

Anyway, on with the show!

First of all, the whole Assault Squad now that they’re all complete, along with freehand chapter badges and squad markings:

Ultramarines 3rd Company Assault Squad - click to enlarge
Ultramarines 3rd Company Assault Squad – click to enlarge

Here’s a couple of detail shots of their shoulder pads:

Assault Squad freehand - click to enlarge
Assault Squad freehand – click to enlarge
Assault Squad freehand - click to enlarge
Assault Squad freehand – click to enlarge

It’s been nice to do a bit of freehand again – I’ve not really toyed with it much on my Infinity models, mainly because I’ve not been brave enough to try it on the smaller models, and I don’t really know what kind of freehand I’d put on them!

My friend also wanted me to paint up his Command squad, Chaplain and Razorback for him, and the standard bearer would require a real test of my freehand. It’s not the greatest, but it’ll suffice for my friend, I’m sure!

Ultramarine Standard Bearer - click to enlarge
Ultramarine Standard Bearer – click to enlarge

I tried to mimic the usual 3rd Company standard – as I said, it’s certainly not golden-daemon standard, but it’ll suffice!

Here are a few shots of the rest of the unit:

Ultramarine Veteran Sergeant - click to enlarge
Ultramarine Veteran Sergeant – click to enlarge
Ultramarine Veteran Sergeant - click to enlarge
Ultramarine Veteran Sergeant – click to enlarge
Ultramarine Company Champion - click to enlarge
Ultramarine Company Champion – click to enlarge
Ultramarine Apothecary - click to enlarge
Ultramarine Apothecary – click to enlarge

Fluff-bunnies may be wondering why the command squad have white helmets. I’m taking my cues here from Insignium Astartes, which displays the command squads as veterans, who are sometimes drawn from within the ranks of the company, and sometimes from the first company. Since the white helmet is the veteran Space Marine’s symbol, I carried onto these guys. It’ll help distinguish them from the rank and file that little bit more.

I went with Celestra Grey as a base for the white, which I highlighted with Ceramite White. I did contemplate doing the whole plates white and only leaving the grey in the recesses, but I preferred the edge-highlight, which was more in-keeping with the rest of the models, which are all edge-highlighted.

The Chaplain model was quite fun to paint – he’s pretty detailed for a Space Marine! I wanted this guy to really stand out from the troops, which is helped by his traditional colours, but I also made sure I got all of the detail on him, especially the multitude of purity seals:

Ultramarines Chaplain - click to enlarge
Ultramarines Chaplain – click to enlarge
Ultramarines Chaplain - click to enlarge
Ultramarines Chaplain – click to enlarge

Finally for this 40k-centric post is the Razorback that comes with the command squad. I decided to leave the secondary hatch and main top hatch unglued so that my friend has the option to switch between a Rhino or Razorback as he pleases:

Ultramarines Razorback - click to enlarge
Ultramarines Razorback – click to enlarge
Ultramarines Razorback - click to enlarge
Ultramarines Razorback – click to enlarge

I found a few spare Ultramarine symbols from my Landspeeder kits, so I put these to good use on the front of the vehicle.

For the Rhino top hatch, I used to short sprue pieces to glue the doors together with a small gap between them so that they look more ‘natural’ on top of the tank. I also added a bit of freehand to it to help break up the large flat area that it forms:

Ultramarines Rhino - click to enlarge
Ultramarines Rhino – click to enlarge
Ultramarines Rhino - click to enlarge
Ultramarines Rhino – click to enlarge
Freehand Ultramarine symbol - click to enlarge
Freehand Ultramarine symbol – click to enlarge

And that wraps up that particular commission job – I’ll be delivering it to my friend tomorrow and putting the money towards some terrain for my gaming table from Antenociti’s Workshop!

Next time, normal Infinity service resumes as I work on completing another friend’s Operation Icestorm models before I travel over to my old home-town to run a demo session for him!

5 thoughts on “Brushwork – Thursday 13th November

    1. Lee says:

      Thanks – my friend has green bases on all his models so I had to make them match.

      I did the tanks by hand – slightly thinned black for the undercoat, then two watered down coats of Ultramarines Blue, all brushed on (the weather lately hasn’t really been great for spraying anything!)

Leave a Reply

