Construction Work – Monday 15th December

Diomedes (work in progress) - click to enlarge

Just a short post today. I kept a couple of purchases from Warfare secret for the purposes of surprising Darren, who’s a regular reader of my blog (or at least, he better be… *shakes fist* ;)).

While I was at Warfare I popped to SMG’s stand, where they had a fantastic 4 for 3 offer, so I treated myself to four blisters, Diomedes, Machaon, and the mighty Phoenix and Achilles. (Well, I say ‘mighty’ – so far in 2 games, Phoenix has found himself critted to death by an ARO from his first shot of the game, including an incredibly flukey triple-crit from a Sin Eater with Mk12, so he’s got some real work to do before he really shines in my eyes!)

Not really a great deal to say about these guys really, other htan they’ll be getting the usual treatment to my Aleph colour scheme of Purple/Black/Grey, which I plan to tackle straight after finishing the Icestorm commission, which I’ve stalled on a bit of late – I started a new job two weeks ago, so I’m in a bit of an adjustment period as I get used to the longer commute and slightly longer hours (although nothing major, it’s surprising what losing an hour of your day to travelling does to you initially!)

So, here they are, on Antenociti’s Workshop hex bases:

Diomedes (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Diomedes (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Diomedes does look like a bit of a ‘pretty-boy’, but I guess that suits his background. He’s a really tall figure, but I put that down to his pose mostly, as he comes in to land.

Machaon (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Machaon (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Machaon is a nice figure – fairly static in his pose, but I guess he’s more of a support character than an out-and-out brawler.

Phoenix (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Phoenix (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Phoenix is a beast – it’s a shame he’s not actually firing his rocket launcher, as I’m more of a fan of combat poses than recruitment poster ones, but each to their own. He’s still a nice model and I’m going to attempt the tattoos on his arms when I get around to him.

Achilles (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Achilles (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Achilles is in more of a combat-pose, and he’s shown his worth to me in the few times I’ve used him. Aleph do seem unique in that they have a TAG-sized man in Ajax, and a man-sized TAG in Achilles!

I’m planning to have the Icestorm stuff finished off this side of Christmas, as I’ve got almost two weeks off over Christmas, which should give me ample opportunity to get that out of the way and allow me to start on these guys, as well as my Tohaa re-basing project.

That’s all from me for now, I’ll have a better post up once I’ve got some more paint on things!

Leave a Reply

