Brushwork – Wednesday 17th December

Hatail Spec Ops and Aelis Keesan on new bases - click to enlarge

I found a bit of time in the evenings so far this week to make a bit of progress, both on the Icestorm commission, which is nearing completion, and my rebasing project for the Tohaa.

First off, I revisited the Nomads and added a little more colour to them, especially on the back of the Alguaciles, who were just grey before. I’ve just added a few more purple areas just to keep them from looking too dull from the back. I’ve also changed the colour of the lights on their wrists, which now better match the Mobile Brigada.

Corregidor Alguaciles commision (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Corregidor Alguaciles commision (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I’ve also got base colours on the remaining models from both the Nomads and PanO in the set:

Operation Icestorm Nomads (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Operation Icestorm Nomads (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Akal Commando and Father Knight commission (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Akal Commando and Father Knight commission (work in progress) – click to enlarge

While the washes on those two were drying, I set off with the Tohaa, motoring through their bases which were painted using a recipe gleaned from Darren – start with a black base, then drybrush with Scorched Brown, then Mournfang, then Graveyard Earth, then a final few spots of Ushabti Bone. I then added the grass tufts which I picked up at Warfare. I’ve still got to go back over these to neaten up the sides of the bases and add the 180 degree vision arcs, but I was too excited to show them off as I’m really pleased with them. Before I get to the image-dump of Tohaa though, I also added this new base technique to a pair of models that I’ve not really shown on the blog:

Kaplan with Spitfire on new base - click to enlarge
Kaplan with Spitfire on new base – click to enlarge
Reverend Custodier (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Reverend Custodier (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Reverend Custodier (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Reverend Custodier (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The Kaplan’s been seen before, albeit on an old style base, but the Custodier hasn’t been seen before. She was kindly donated to me by Darren, and she’s serving as a test-bed for my Nomad colour scheme for the contents of my own Icestorm box. I’m a little unsure about the red lining on her cloak though – she looks a little ‘christmassy’. The same can be said of her weapon casing, which will be easier to change at least. I’m happy with the turquoise/grey armour though, so that will carry across to the other models nicely, I trust.

Right, that’s about it from me for this post – I’ll leave you with a huge dump of images of my Tohaa (I really must finish painting that Sakiel Spitfire!) on their new bases for you to enjoy until next time!

Sakiel on new bases - click to enlarge
Sakiel on new bases – click to enlarge
Makaul on new bases - click to enlarge
Makaul on new bases – click to enlarge
Kamael Light Infantry on new bases - click to enlarge
Kamael Light Infantry on new bases – click to enlarge
Hatail Spec Ops and Aelis Keesan on new bases - click to enlarge
Hatail Spec Ops and Aelis Keesan on new bases – click to enlarge
Gao Rael on new bases - click to enlarge
Gao Rael on new bases – click to enlarge
Ectros and Neema Saatar on new bases - click to enlarge
Ectros and Neema Saatar on new bases – click to enlarge
Chaksa on new bases - click to enlarge
Chaksa on new bases – click to enlarge
4 thoughts on “Brushwork – Wednesday 17th December

  1. 40kterminatus says:

    Loving your colour schemes. I going to have a go at painting some Druze shortly so I might quiz you on what colour to go with ? Green looks good to me.

    1. Lee says:

      Hmm… Difficult question – the studio Druze scheme is pretty nice, although I was contemplating making mine similar to the Kaplan I’ve done (grey/black/white)

    1. Lee says:

      Thank you! 🙂 It’s a worthwhile choice – very cheap in terms of buy-in (Around £80 is the cost of a standard army) and beautiful models!

Leave a Reply

