Brushwork – Monday 22nd December

Operation Icestorm Commission

This won’t be a very wordy post, as it’s mainly a photodump of a completed project, but I’ll have a very long and drawn out post for my review of 2014 post in a few days.

After some discussion with my client, I was able to convince him to go for something a little more interesting on the bases of his Icestorm models that I’ve been working on all this time. The bases I’d done before (cheap and cheerful urban style) weren’t cutting it and we’re letting down the whole look of the models. Thankfully my friend really liked the look of my Tohaa bases and so was happy for me to apply the same effect to his bases.

Below are the results of this, along with the finished versions of everything!

First off, the Akal and Father Knight that I showed last time:

Akali Sikh Commando - click to enlarge
Akali Sikh Commando – click to enlarge
Akali Sikh Commando - click to enlarge
Akali Sikh Commando – click to enlarge
Father Knight - click to enlarge
Father Knight – click to enlarge
Father Knight - click to enlarge
Father Knight – click to enlarge

I’m really pleased with how these turned out, especially with the new bases, which really help make the colours on the model itself stand out, and look far more interesting than simple panel lines (and to be fair, I don’t think my skills at basic flat areas are that great, so I was grateful to have something more interesting on the base itself!)

Next, the rest of the Nomads, the Grenz, Spektr and Reverend Healer:

Grenz Sniper - click to enlarge
Grenz Sniper – click to enlarge
Grenz Sniper - click to enlarge
Grenz Sniper – click to enlarge
Spektr - click to enlarge
Spektr – click to enlarge
Spektr - click to enlarge
Spektr – click to enlarge
Reverend Healer - click to enlarge
Reverend Healer – click to enlarge
Reverend Healer - click to enlarge
Reverend Healer – click to enlarge

And to wrap up this post, here’s a couple of family photos, plus the CSU on her new base:

Corporate Security Unit - click to enlarge
Corporate Security Unit – click to enlarge
Corporate Security Unit - click to enlarge
Corporate Security Unit – click to enlarge
Operation Icestorm Nomad models - click to enlarge
Operation Icestorm Nomad models – click to enlarge
Operation Icestorm PanOceania models - click to enlarge
Operation Icestorm PanOceania models – click to enlarge
4 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 22nd December

  1. Nafnaf says:

    Yes they do look much better. I felt the ones before let down the paintjob a bit, but these are a nice contrast to the minis, and help bring out the colour schemes more.

    Merry Christmas

  2. Battlemind says:

    Good stuff – love ’em – way to go man. Not sure what I think about the purple (I don’t care that they’re not red), but it’s a weird choice. Keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

