Brushwork – Saturday 24th January

Authorised Bounty Hunter featured image

Just a short post today – been a bit of a quiet week for me, hobby-wise, although I’ve managed to get a couple of models done.

I’ve got a tournament tomorrow – just a friendly N3 intro doubles tournament down in Exeter, so I’m taking 150pts of Tohaa, which meant I had to get this guy done as he’s in my list:

Kamael Light Infantry with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Kamael Light Infantry with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Kamael Light Infantry with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Kamael Light Infantry with Spitfire – click to enlarge

As usual it’s Mordian Blue washed with Asurmen Blue, then re-highlighted with Mordian, Ultramarine and then Nauseating blue. The weapons are the usual three-stage Thraka Green ink wash over Celestra Grey.

He fits in nicely with the rest of my Tohaa, and I’ll be cracking on with the rest of them in the coming days.

My second model for today was my Authorised Bounty Hunter, who was a pre-order exclusive with Infinity 3rd Edition. He’s a fantastic model, and I really like his pose.

Since he’s a bounty hunter, he doesn’t need to conform to any army colour schemes, so I went with a bone colour for his armour. It’s Ushabti Bone, washed with Agrax Earthshade, then re-highlighted with Ushabti Bone and then a thin highlight of a 50/50 Ushabti Bone/Ceramite White mix.

The coat was Scorched Brown washed with Agrax Earthshade, then highlighted with Scorched Brown, Mournfang Brown and then a 50/50 Mournfang/Ushabti mix.

I then decided to add some colour to him with a couple of blue parts, plus the freehand star on his chest plate.

Authorised Bounty Hunter - click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter – click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter - click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter – click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter - click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter – click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter - click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter – click to enlarge

That’s all from me today, but I’ll be back next week with a tournament report and some more progress on my pile of shame!

9 thoughts on “Brushwork – Saturday 24th January

  1. 40kterminatus says:

    That Authorised Bounty Hunter is very well done and your a lucky soul getting hold of one. I think the only place you can get one now is on fleabay for some extortionate price 😦

  2. 40kterminatus says:

    Is the blue star on his chest plate a decal, hand painted or part of the model because its very well done ?

  3. Lee says:

    Thanks guys! I made sure I pre-ordered my copy of N3 – I really wanted the model!

    The blue star is free-hand (the dodgy tips of each point give it away), but thank you for the compliment! 🙂

  4. Battlemind says:

    Great work Lee – love the Bounty Hunter – blocky up close (not in a bad way), but super defined on the table I’m sure. I really like your hard highlighting – good technique – and I know they look great at arm’s length on the table. Great colour choices for the BH. Thumbs up man.

Leave a Reply

