Brushwork – Monday 9th February

Phoenix, Achilles, Diomedes and Machaon - click to enlarge

I’m on a bit of a roll at the moment, and this weekend I finished my final Aleph figure, Achilles! When I built him I decided to leave the slung Spitfire off of his back, partly because the join was so small that I could see it breaking quite a lot, and partly because I figure he doesn’t need it – especially since he has a couple of weapon options, so this way he can represent either of them without upsetting anyone with strict WYSIWYG issues (not that I’ve met anyone like that, but from reading some wargaming forums, they do exist…)

So, here he is – the usual colour pallette/mix recipes which I’ve detailed several times already:

Achilles - click to enlarge
Achilles – click to enlarge
Achilles - click to enlarge
Achilles – click to enlarge
Achilles - click to enlarge
Achilles – click to enlarge
Achilles - click to enlarge
Achilles – click to enlarge

For his hair, I wanted to avoid the manga ‘yellow’ look to his blonde hair, so went with a more natural bone colour, washed with Agrax Earthshade, then drybrushed back up with Ushabti Bone. I then neatened it up a little, and then added an extra highlight of a white/bone 50/50 mix.

I also decided to add a small splash of Coal Black/Kabalite green to him, just to break up the colours a little, so the hexagonal patches of his trousers got that treatment.

Here he is along with the other Aleph characters I’ve painted up over the last week or so:

Phoenix, Achilles, Diomedes and Machaon - click to enlarge
Phoenix, Achilles, Diomedes and Machaon – click to enlarge

Now that these guys are all done, I’m moving away for Infinity briefly by painting up my Dreadball Team – these guys should be relatively quick as they’re mostly block colours and washes, and since they’re not as detailed as a miniature from Corvus Belli, they won’t take quite as much time to do either!

I must say, I’m not overly enamoured with the casting quality of these models (and I’m guilty of missing a few mould lines and bits of flash) but hey, they were cheap, and I see them more as board game pieces than ‘genuine’ miniatures.

These guys are painted Bavarian Blue, then washed with Asurmen Blue. The grey areas are painted Celestra Grey then washed with Nuln Oil. Black areas are just Abaddon Black.

My plan is to differentiate the various positions in the team by the eye lens colour – Jacks will have yellow eyes, Guards will be red and Strikers will be green. I’ll also add some sort of detail to the large plate on their backs to further help point them out.

Dreadball Robot team (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Dreadball Robot team (work in progress) – click to enlarge

And here’s a detail shot of the completed Guard that I’ve added some extra colour to by adding some small orange lights to him:

Dreadball Robot Guard - click to enlarge
Dreadball Robot Guard – click to enlarge

I don’t envision these guys taking that long, and normal Infinity service will resume later this week once these guys are done!

4 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 9th February

  1. Robey Jenkins says:

    I thought the whole deal with the robots was that they could shift from one team role to another in the course of the game – hence why they are all the same. You may want to distinguish them with numbers on their chassis so you can keep track of which one has what role at any given moment.

    1. Lee says:

      They can indeed shift roles, I just meant more as a visual aid (other than their pose) as to which role they’re in at any given time. I don’t really want to have to buy/paint multiple figures to have one of every number as a Jack/Guard/Striker, so I may leave off numbering for just such a reason. I may paint a symbol on their back which equates to the role, however.

Leave a Reply

