Brushwork – Tuesday 24th March

Kumotail Bioengineer - click to enlarge

With the mad rush before the tournament over, I can slow my pace a little and take a more measured approach. The post-tournament (and subsequent night out) lazy Sunday gave me a bit of time to re-evaluate my pile of shame and look at how much time I’ve got to finish it all before Salute rolls around. Due to the amount of time left (four and a half weeks at the time of writing) and the number of models still to complete (40), I’ve taken the decision to give up my little challenge of having it all done before the event. It’s a bit of a shame, but due to a few things cropping up in the next 8 weeks (two weddings, a stag do, a race that I’ve barely started training for) my time is going to be quite limited and I don’t want to compromise on the paint jobs.

I’m still banning myself from buying any more models until these are all painted though, so there’ll still be plenty of hobby-content on the blog for the forseeable future – although not having a time-limit to work to is a big weight lifted off of my shoulders.

With that out of the way, onto the meat of today’s post:

In the lead up to the tournament I got almost all of the models needed on the day fully painted – the exceptions were the Chaksa from the Rasail Boarding Team and the Diplomatic Delegate, who are both half-done (literally in the case of the Delegate!)

Rasail Boarding Team  - click to enlarge
Rasail Boarding Team – click to enlarge
Rasail Boarding Team  - click to enlarge
Rasail Boarding Team – click to enlarge

I went for a slightly different black method on the Rasail’s jacket – rather than using Charadon Granite to highlight with, I decided to use P3 Coal black and Kabalite Green for the highlights – given that you can have many shades and tints of black fabrics, I figured this would help give a little bit of variety to my force without looking too out of place or garish.

The Chaksa still needs his skin highlighting, and the detail adding to the small round areas on his armour plates, which I can’t decide whether to do as lights or gems.

The Delegate is going to have a totally different colour scheme to the rest of my Tohaa, since she’s not a military asset, just a civilian:

Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I still need to finish off her legs and lower half of her dress – I’m still in two minds whether to add some free-hand to her leggings or not. I don’t want to make the model look too busy.

I finally got my Kumotail finished as well – like the Delegate, I’ve painted her legs as if she’s wearing leggings, and like the Rasail I’ve highlighted them subtly with P3 Coal Black, for some variety.

Kumotail Bioengineer - click to enlarge
Kumotail Bioengineer – click to enlarge
Kumotail Bioengineer - click to enlarge
Kumotail Bioengineer – click to enlarge

Over the weekend, I finally got hold of the limited edition Joan of Arc figure (Darren and I have split the cost of the Angel Giraldez book – he gets the book, I get the figure), and so I built her up to add to my PanO collection.

Limited Edition Joan of Arc (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Limited Edition Joan of Arc (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Limited Edition Joan of Arc (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Limited Edition Joan of Arc (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I made a couple of minor adjustments in the position of the arms so that the weight of the sword looks more natural – the model is meant to look like she’s turning around to the side, but from certain angles the arm looks a little odd, so I’ve angled it more straight down so that she’s in a more natural position. It’s difficult to tell from the angle of the images, but seen from the front it looks more natural than the stock pose, in my opinion.

Lastly for today, I built up my 3rd place prize, Senor Massacre. The difference between old and new Infinity models when it comes to assembly was really made apparant when building these two – Joan went together like a dream while this guy was a real pain in the arse! The hand holding the sword is seperate from the arm, which is in turn seperate from the body. Not normally an issue with today’s techniques, but in the days before computer-generated models, the joins aren’t great, and the age of the mould means that the locator ‘nubs’ are practically non-existant. I drilled out the hand slightly to allow for the pin moulded onto the arm to fit, but it’s not great and I can see me having to make a repair job to it at some point. Still, nice looking model though!

Senor Massacre (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Senor Massacre (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Senor Massacre (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Senor Massacre (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Before I leave today, I’m not normally one to cover news/new releases etc – however, as I was writing this post, the preview of the new Akal with Spitfire popped up on Twitter – Infinity Warcors has the full video, but here’s a couple of screen captures. This guy is definitely getting added to my collection. The original Akals were some of my favourite PanO models, and these new updated sculpts are equally as fantastic! You can click them to enlarge, and you can see the full video over on Infinitywarcors.com.

Akal Sikh Commando with Spitfire - reproduced without permission from InfinityWarcors.com
Akal Sikh Commando with Spitfire – reproduced without permission from InfinityWarcors.com
Akal Sikh Commando with Spitfire - reproduced without permission from InfinityWarcors.com
Akal Sikh Commando with Spitfire – reproduced without permission from InfinityWarcors.com
3 thoughts on “Brushwork – Tuesday 24th March

  1. 40kterminatus says:

    That Tohaa Delegate looks very strange, well painted but just odd looking. Its the stance with the arm out that gets me lol

    1. Lee says:

      Heheh, yeah, in Infinity circles she’s known as Artichoke Beyonce on account of her head looking like the plant and her stance like she’s dancing to a particular song!

Leave a Reply

