Brushwork – Tuesday 31st March

Chaksa with Heavy Flamethrower - click to enlarge

I had a bit of a hobby slump over the weekend, mainly because I, along with a few friends have been playing Destiny like mad to prepare our characters for another crack at the Vault of Glass. More hardcore gamers among you will probably laugh at this, but hey, none of us are amazing at games so it’s quite the challenge for us, plus organising a time where we’re all actually online at the same time can be quite the task as well, what with real life and all! Also, the wife and I picked up Dying Light, so we had a quick blast on that – definitely a lot of fun in co-op!

Anyway, I digress – I got back to the painting table last night to finish off the Rasail Boarding Team and the Diplomatic Delegate, and they’re now at a standard I’m content with. I do feel that they, along with a lot of my Tohaa, could use some neatening up and extra highlights/shading to really make them pop, but I’d rather have them all at at least tabletop standard before I revisit them.

First off, the Delegate. as I said before, I wanted her to be a different colour to the rest of the Tohaa, given how she’s more of a civilian than a military unit:

Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate - click to enlarge
Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate – click to enlarge
Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate - click to enlarge
Tohaa Diplomatic Delegate – click to enlarge

I decided in the end to make her leggings a dark purple – something to contrast with the bright red of her dress, although nothing too colourful as to detract from the rest of her clothing. I gave it a quick highlight using some of the Naggaroth Night mixed with Bleached Bone, and I may well glaze it back down with some purple ink to help blend it a little better.

Next up, the Chaksa from the Rasail team, who was only half-done in time for the tournament last weekend.

Chaksa with Heavy Flamethrower - click to enlarge
Chaksa with Heavy Flamethrower – click to enlarge
Chaksa with Heavy Flamethrower - click to enlarge
Chaksa with Heavy Flamethrower – click to enlarge

Like the other Chaksas I did previously, his skin is Charadon Granite washed with Agrax Earthshade, then highlighted back up through Charadon Granite with more and more Snakebike Leather in it, before a final highlight of 50/50 Snakebite Leather and Bleached Bone. With this Chaksa, and subsequently on my other Chaksa models, I decided that some of his areas like his skin, his, er, nipples (I guess?) etc needed a wash of Baal Red, just to help break up the colour a little, so I did that and carried it over to the others.

I also decided that the small round parts of his armour could do with looking like lights, so I painted them up in green – I did think about doing them orange, but I thought that might look a little too bright, so green it was. I may experiment on the second Chaksa with orange lights and see how it looks, however, but for now this guy is having his green lights.

Here’s a shot of the now completed team with Customeeple Nanoscreen:

Rasail Boarding Team with Customeeple Nanoscreen - click to enlarge
Rasail Boarding Team with Customeeple Nanoscreen – click to enlarge

Next on the workbench (ok, dining table) will be my other Kotail, plus the other Rasail team. As with all of my models wearing Symbiont Armour, I start off by painting that and washing/drybrushing it, before doing the armour plates/webbing over top, since the drybrushing is a bit of a messy business! (That being said, I do like the kind of glow effect it appears to have left on the Rasail, so I may experiment with this technique on some other models).

Kotail with two Combi Rifles  (work in progress) with Customeeple holoechoes - click to enlarge
Kotail with two Combi Rifles (work in progress) with Customeeple holoechoes – click to enlarge
Rasail with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Rasail with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I’ve now committed myself to three tournaments this summer, along with some of my gaming group – in May we’ll be going to the Totally Crit Open, where fellow blogger and podcast host Rob has challenged me to a game (we’ve been meaning to do so for about a year now, so this will finally be the time where he gets to grind my Tohaa into dust!).

After that, comes the Summer Challenge down in Exeter, and then in July we’re planning to attend the Battlefront Grand Tournament up in Birmingham. While a few members of the community are a little taken aback at the price, I for one don’t really mind the ticket cost since it’s probably the one big event I’ll attend this year (especially since this year’s trip to Salute went out of the window). Hopefully enough people can step forward to buy tickets and fill that 100-player limit, as that will be a fantastic thing to see and be part of.

Right, enough from me for now – I hope to get a little more done this Easter weekend, since we don’t have any trips planned!

Leave a Reply

