Brushwork – Monday 20th April

Rasail with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge

I’ve been a bit slow in recent weeks for various reasons, but I’ve managed to find some time at the painting table to work on my second Rasail team this weekend. I’ve also been trying to rescue some of my older paints by transferring them to dropper bottles, although results have been mixed, with some of them becoming far too watery (my own fault for trying to dilute them a little to help them flow into the new bottles in the first place…), so I may have to forgo a mass-transfer of paints to new bottles for now and only do it to the ones which need to be rescued. This has meant that I’ve not been able to drybrush any bases, since two of the paints I use are now far too watery to be of any use, so I’ll have to buy some more on payday!

I’ve also been getting some games in – last week Darren and I played the second Campaign Paradiso Prologue mission, which sees some Ariadnan colonists attempt to send a warning message to Earth, to inform them of the vile experiments the Tohaa have been conducting on them. This is a direct follow-on from the first Prologue mission, but this time the action goes inside the crashed ship Aurora. The Colonists can either make a break for the Bridge where they can transmit their message, or, if the circumstances are looking extremely dire, initiate the self-destruct sequence and destroy everyone on board.

We used my Space Hulk tiles as well as some pieces of A4 black paper to represent larger rooms, and had a real blast playing this mission. We changed the mission paramaters slightly (removing the two-turn limit), which we felt was fair given all the twists and turns there were on the board.

Here’s a couple of shots from the game:

Deployment - click to enlarge
Deployment – click to enlarge
Ectros vs Dog Warrior and Wulver - click to enlarge
Ectros vs Dog Warrior and Wulver – click to enlarge
Sakiels and  a Gao Rael try to defend the central console - click to enlarge
Sakiels and a Gao Rael try to defend the central console – click to enlarge
A Makaul with Boarding Shotgun singles out a Dog Warrior for close combat - click to enlarge
A Makaul with Boarding Shotgun singles out a Dog Warrior for close combat – click to enlarge
A Rasail Team prepares to slow the advance of the Russians - click to enlarge
A Rasail Team prepares to slow the advance of the Russians – click to enlarge

It was a really fun game, despite Darren’s dice being ridiculously good for the first couple of turns, while my Tohaa were scythed down by highly accurate gunfire (including an Autocannon – horrible!), but in the end I was able to stop the colonists from transmitting their message, which left them with no option but to initiate the self-destruct sequence, resulting in a Draw. I’d definitely like to do more games in such a setting – the game mechanics lend themselves really well to this kind of encounter with zero changes or house rules needed. It’s nice to see other kinds of weapons shine in this kind of situation too – a list for a boarding action would look totally different from one on a more regular Infinity table.

Anyway, I digress, the second Rasail team. I still need to re-touch her face and work on the highlights there, as well as finish the Chaksa off, but they’re almost done:

Rasail with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Rasail with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Rasail with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Rasail with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Once these guys are complete, I’ll finish off my second Kotail, and start working on my Gorgos. I’ve already started on the Chaksa Perifical:

Chaksa Perifical (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Chaksa Perifical (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Chaksa Perifical (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Chaksa Perifical (work in progress) – click to enlarge

His skin is painted Charadon Granite, then washed with Agrax Earthshade. I’ll then re-highlight with Charadon Granite, then add progressively more and more Snakebite Leather to bring the colour back up again. They’re darker than the studio Chaksa, but I prefer them that way, as the studio ones are a little too bright for my liking.

That’s all from me for this post, but I hope to have some more progress later this week!

4 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 20th April

  1. Matt says:

    Looks like a lot of fun. I’ve been finally tinkering around on the gaming table with my Aleph as of recent. Was fun to finally use the minis instead of looking at them. 😛
    Tohaa are going to be part of my next ‘project’. I am still unsure on how to paint my Chaksas. I am leaning towards an earthy purple tone. A brown grey tone would work nicely as well. Maybe more brown than what you have used but in a similar range.

    1. Lee says:

      Cool! An earthy purple tone could look really good and give a nice contrast to the colours of your Tohaa models in the force, for sure!

Leave a Reply

