Brushwork – Tuesday 5th May

Gorgos/Rasail size comparison - click to enlarge

To say I’ve been a bit lazy in recent weeks would be an understatement. While I’ve had a decent amount of gaming, I’ve definitely been shying away from the painting table, mostly due to the silly mistakes I made trying to transfer paints across and the subsequent re-purchase of certain colours that became far too watery to be much use. I’ve at least been able to salvage the blues that I use for my Tohaa, although worryingly I may have to buy new pots, which wouldn’t be a big issue except for the fact that the paint range has changed since I picked these particular colours up, so there may end up being a noticeable difference in the blues. Hopefully not but we’ll have to see what happens.

With the purchase of replacements for my ruined Graveyard Earth and Scorched Brown, I was able to finish off the bases on my Rasail team. I went ahead and did the base on the Chaksa as well, despite him not being finished, since I was on a bit of a roll with them. I’ll hopefully have him done fairly shortly as well:

Rasail Boarding Team with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Rasail Boarding Team with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Rasail Boarding Team with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Rasail Boarding Team with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge

He’ll get the same treatment as the other Rasail team members, so he’ll have glowing lights on his armour and blended skin tones.

I also decided to treat myself and paint up the Gorgos – he’s a lovely model and I’ve been wanting to get him completed for a while. He already had his Symbiont Armour painted (as with all of my Symbiont Armoured models) with the ink wash/drybrush technique I’ve been using, so I figured it was high-time he got finished off completely.

I’m trying to add more black to the colour palette of my Tohaa, especially on the models with Symbiont Armour – some of my earlier models (the Sakiels/Gao Tarsos for example) are mostly blue and orange, which to me makes them look like they’re dressed in the brand colours of some kind of discount store/bathroom cleaning product! With this in mind I’ve been trying to dial back the amount of blue and add in more black, to keep things closer to my original idea of using the colours of Garrus Vakarian from Mass Effect.

I’m pretty pleased with him overall. I may revisit him at some point and add a little more detail to him, perhaps some freehand, but for now he’s done. Here’s a few shots from different angles:

Gorgos TAG - click to enlarge
Gorgos TAG – click to enlarge
Gorgos TAG - click to enlarge
Gorgos TAG – click to enlarge
Gorgos TAG - click to enlarge
Gorgos TAG – click to enlarge
Gorgos TAG - click to enlarge
Gorgos TAG – click to enlarge

Also, for fun, here’s a little size comparison with the Rasail model to show how huge he is. If only he were as imposing in terms of his rules – then he’d be something to be truly feared!

Gorgos/Rasail size comparison - click to enlarge
Gorgos/Rasail size comparison – click to enlarge

Next up is his little Chaksa perifical, who I’ve shown before.

That’s all for now -hopefully I’ve have the little fella done by the weekend!

3 thoughts on “Brushwork – Tuesday 5th May

  1. 40kterminatus says:

    Sorry to hear your having problems with paint. I added Vallejo paints to my GW pallete a while ago and it took time to get it all working. I am also having a lazy break from painting and enjoying it. Your painting looks excellent as per usual.

  2. NafNaf says:

    I really like the black addition to your palette. It tones down the bright armour colours nicely and looks great to boot. That TAG model is awesome

  3. Lee says:

    Thanks guys, I’m pretty pleased with him! I’ll definitely give my other models a bit of a once-over to tone down the blue and add some more black here and there.

Leave a Reply

