Brushwork – Tuesday 4th August

Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion - click to enlarge

I worked on a few bits here and there this weekend, rather than throw myself wholesale into too much at once. First of all, I darkened the Reverend Custodier that I’ve been using as a test model for the Nomads I’ve got from Operation Icestorm:

Reverend Custodier - click to enlarge
Reverend Custodier – click to enlarge

I’m still not overly satisfied with the red on the inside of the cloak – it looks a little too bright to me. Purple would be the obvious choice to replace it, but I’m worried that may make her look too similar to the Military Orders models I have, who have black cloaks with purple lining. I’ll have to keep mulling this one over a bit longer I think.

Inspired by her colours, I started throwing paint at one of the Alguaciles – I started with P3 Coal Black as a base on the armour, then washed it with Nuln Oil before re-highlighting with Coal Black, Kabalite Green and Sybarite Green. I’ve not decided what to do with the undersuit – I was toying with making it white, but that may look a little garish. I may go for a bone colour, but I’ll have to play with Photoshop a bit first to decide.

Alguacile (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Alguacile (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Alguacile (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Alguacile (work in progress) – click to enlarge

While I’m deciding on these, I also decided to paint up my Dozer who I won at the Summer Challenge – I want him (and the USAriadnans I’ve preordered) to look a little more ‘military’, although I don’t want to follow the studio scheme at all if I can help it.

I’ve gone for green fatigues here and given the Dozer a brown jacket. I can’t say I’m convinced by him, to be honest, so I may strip him down and re-paint him differently, although it’s difficult to know what to do. I could go completely outlandish and go for brighter colours on the Ariadnans I get rather than more realistic colours, but I’m unsure.

Dozer - click to enlarge
Dozer – click to enlarge
Dozer - click to enlarge
Dozer – click to enlarge
Dozer - click to enlarge
Dozer – click to enlarge
Dozer - click to enlarge
Dozer – click to enlarge

Going back to more familiar colour schemes, I painted up the Posthuman Mk2 Hacker I’d converted as well:

Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion – click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion – click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion – click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion - click to enlarge
Posthuman Mk2 Hacker conversion – click to enlarge

Nothing out of the ordinary – I just need to finish off highlighting the wall and complete the drain cover on the base and she’s ready to hit the table!

That’s about it from me for this post – I’m gradually gearing myself up to host Pigfinity 2015 on August 30th – we’ve still got 7 more spaces available, and all the Prizes are in, so all that’s left for me to do is make some results slips, voting slips for the Best Painted award, and create some presentations to describe the missions to everyone at the start of each round for the benefit of any new players present!

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Tuesday 4th August

  1. Argentbadger says:

    Amazing painting as usual. The pose on the Posthuman is really sweet; I’m not familiar with the miniature so I was wondering how much converting you had to do?

Leave a Reply

