Brushwork – Monday 11th January

Tiger Soldier with Spitfire - click to enlarge

With the move into the new house finally over with (barring a few last little bits to unpack), I’ve finally been able to get back to the painting table.

Since it’s a new year and a new house, I thought I’d go for something new to paint too, and the Tiger Soldier model I got from the INTC back in November seemed the perfect candidate!

I started with a Celestra Grey basecoat, washed with Vallejo Grey Wash. I then went back over the panels with Celestra Grey and added a highlight of pure white to the edges.

I decided to add some spots of extra colour to him, as he was looking incredibly plain without it. Initially I went with some orange parts to his armour, but sadly this ended up looking a little too much like my friend Adam’s Yu Jing, so I had to abandon it and find something else. In the end I opted for a colour I haven’t yet painted much of – green. It seems to have worked, alongside the red stripes elsewhere on his armour that I’ve also given him:

Tiger Soldier with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Tiger Soldier with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Tiger Soldier with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Tiger Soldier with Spitfire – click to enlarge
Tiger Soldier with Spitfire - click to enlarge
Tiger Soldier with Spitfire – click to enlarge

He’ll serve as a useful test-bed for the rest of the Yu Jing I’ve got, and I’m looking forward to giving them a try, both on the painting desk and tabletop.

Continuing with the ‘new’ theme, I also built up a couple of extra models that I acquired over the Christmas break – one being Anyat from the Dire Foes Train Rescue mission:

Treitek Anyat (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Treitek Anyat (work in progress) – click to enlarge

She’s got a minor mis-cast on her faceplate which I’ll correct with some green stuff (most likely just smoothing it off, although I’ll compare her artwork and how the model should actually look first, and perhaps try matching the Sogorat faceplate as best I can.

The other addition to the Pile of Shame (which now stands at 52 unpainted models… Ouch) is the Igao with Boarding Shotgun:

Igao with Boarding Shotgun (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Igao with Boarding Shotgun (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Both Igao models are stunning to look at, and in 2016 I’m going to be consciously avoiding ITS in casual games in order to try out different ways of playing (such as the 20/20 system, or some narrative scenarios) where units like this get to shine.

That’s it from me for this short post, hopefully I can get back into the swing of things over the next few weeks and get some more things painted and play some more games!

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 11th January

Leave a Reply

