Brushwork – Tuesday 31st May

Guilang - click to enlarge

I’ve been on a bit of a break from the painting desk over the last month or so due to real life taking me overseas for a fortnight. However, I’m now back in the country and ready to tackle the Pile of Shame again. The number of unpainted models is hovering at around 36 models left to paint, although this number is soon to skyrocket due to a Kickstarter I backed (and one that I didn’t) being despatched soon.

Last year I broke my Kickstarter cherry with the Human Interface: Nakamura Tower Kickstarter, which should be shipping out to me in the next month or so. Added to that is the Infinity RPG Kickstarter, from which I’ve ordered a few of the character models on top of a friend’s pledge. All in all, from these two Kickstarters I stand to end up with another 50 or so 28mm metal models on the pile, which is why I’ve not been buying much in recent months!

With regards to what I have been working on lately, I’ll start with the Guilang – an older Yu Jing sculpt that still looks really nice alongside the newer models.

Guilang - click to enlarge
Guilang – click to enlarge
Guilang - click to enlarge
Guilang – click to enlarge

The colours aren’t anything remarkably different from the rest of my Yu Jing, with the exception of the coat which I painted in my custom dark grey then washed with Nuln Oil.

After this guy was complete, I revisited my PanO – I’ve had an Operation Icestorm box since it was released but have only now gotten around to painting a PanO model from it (if you discount the commission set I did for a friend). It was quite nice revisiting the red colour scheme, although I think I may need to invest in some slightly darker reds to better match the older colours I used to use before switching.

Fusilier - click to enlarge
Fusilier – click to enlarge
Fusilier - click to enlarge
Fusilier – click to enlarge
Fusilier - click to enlarge
Fusilier – click to enlarge

The next model I’ve been working on is my Grenzr Sniper from Icestorm – I’ve made good progress with the Nomad models I’ve got, and now with this one complete I only have the Mobile Brigada left to finish to have all the Nomads painted (until I get some more I guess!)

Grenzr sniper - click to enlarge
Grenzr sniper – click to enlarge
Grenzr sniper - click to enlarge
Grenzr sniper – click to enlarge
Grenzr sniper - click to enlarge
Grenzr sniper – click to enlarge

Finally, here’s a work-in-progress shot of my second Igao, which I’m looking forward to using after the updates he got in HSN3! Like the previous Igao, he has a much darker colour scheme than the rest of my Tohaa, although he still has elements of the blue which is their predominant colour.

Igao with Boarding Shotgun (work in progress)
Igao with Boarding Shotgun (work in progress)

Once I finish this guy off, I’ll be moving on to completing a commission job of Ultramarines I’ve been working on.

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Tuesday 31st May

    1. Lee says:

      Thanks!

      I don’t tend to do much with black really – usually just a line highlight with a dark grey. Sometimes I’ll do an extra one with a custom dark grey (more like off-black) that I mixed, followed by an edge highlight. With the Guilang coat that’s actually just the dark grey mix washed with Nuln Oil. Some of my Tohaa have different colours used in highlighting them though – I think I mention it in my Tohaa section 🙂

Leave a Reply

