Brushwork – Sunday 12th June

Operation Icestorm Nomads - click to enlarge

This week I finished off the Igao I showed you last time, and also decided to neatly round off my Nomad starter that I’ve had since Operation Icestorm released back in September 2014 (yes, 18 months have passed already!). While I’ve not been gaming much lately, other than the occasional X-Wing campaign game (which I’ve been having a lot of fun playing), I have at least had some quality time at the painting table – the part of the hobby I enjoy most. However, I have got an event coming up this week with a 100pt mini-tournament at our local club, which should be interesting – I’ll write up a short report once it’s happened.

Still, the completion of these two models brings the number of unpainted models in the Pile of Shame down even further, and also brought my total of painted models this year up to 35 (although this figure excludes the Ultramarines I’ve been doing for my friend). Last year I completed 51 models, so hopefully I can beat that total by the end of this year.

Back in hobby-land, the Igao has the darker scheme like his female counterpart:

Igao with Boarding Shotgun - click to enlarge
Igao with Boarding Shotgun – click to enlarge
Igao with Boarding Shotgun - click to enlarge
Igao with Boarding Shotgun – click to enlarge
Igao with Boarding Shotgun - click to enlarge
Igao with Boarding Shotgun – click to enlarge

With all the boosts this unit got with the release of Human Sphere N3, I’m excited to get him on the table and try him out properly!

Next up is the final Nomad model in my collection (for now, of course!) – the Mobile Brigada! He’s a great sculpt and I’ve been deliberately saving him until last as he’s my favourite from the new starter.

I started with the standard colours for my Nomads before adding a couple of panels in their secondary bone colour to stop him looking too monochrome. I also added a few freehand lines to his armour plates, to break up some of the flat areas a little.

Mobile Brigada - click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada – click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada - click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada – click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada - click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada – click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada - click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada – click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada - click to enlarge
Mobile Brigada – click to enlarge

For the black areas on his undersuit I simply painted them Mechanicus Standard Grey then washed them with two coats of Nuln Oil (allowing each coat to dry first, of course).

As a bonus, here he is next to the rest of the models from Operation Icestorm – I had planned to put all of my Nomads in, but by mistake I left out the Reverend Custodier that I own!

Operation Icestorm Nomads - click to enlarge
Operation Icestorm Nomads – click to enlarge

I’ll pop a post and some images up at the end of the week after I’ve won the wooden spoon! 😉

6 thoughts on “Brushwork – Sunday 12th June

  1. The Invincible Army says:

    Those Nomads look suuuuuper slick. The freehand on the Mobile Brigada was a good add and it makes him very interesting to look at. Good to see the whole squad all together in unison. Great colour scheme.

    1. Lee says:

      Thanks for the kind words! It seems I made a good choice with the colours, judging by all the positive feedback I’ve been getting!

  2. daggerandbrush says:

    Excellent work. I think this is your best work yet and it is interestign to see how your painting developed in the last years. I think you have a very good style for Infinity miniatures that makes them really pop while emphasising the futuristic gear.

    1. Lee says:

      Thanks for the kind words! I certainly seem to be doing something right with my Infinity models compared to other systems that I used to paint!

Leave a Reply

