Brushwork – Thursday 7th July

Druze Hacker - click to enlarge

A bit of queue-jumping happened this week – because I’d decided last-minute to play the Rescue mission, I needed a fourth Civilian model painted – I’ve got three already with my Delegate, O-12 Commissioner and Fusilier Angus, and I had a fourth waiting for paint with the Marine Engineering Officer, so I bumped her up the queue and got her painted first in lieu of my Marauder, who’s still in progress.

Marine Engineering Officer - click to enlarge
Marine Engineering Officer – click to enlarge
Marine Engineering Officer - click to enlarge
Marine Engineering Officer – click to enlarge

I painted her coat and hat with P3 Meridius Blue, washed with Asurmen Blue, then re-highlighted with Meridius Blue and P3 Arcane Blue. Her skirt was painted with my custom dark grey mix, washed with Nuln Oil, while her legs were straight Abaddon Black washed with Nuln Oil. However, after all this rushing to get her done, I then managed to forget to bring all of my civilians over to Darren’s – a facepalm moment if ever there was one!

I did decide to finish off my HSN3 preorder miniature though, the Druze Hacker. I painted her in a similar scheme to the other Haqqislam models I’ve done, although it’s a little harder to tell as most of her armour is covered by her jacket. She was quite a fun model to paint though! Hopefully she’ll fit right in with the Haqqislam I end up getting with the Operation: Red Veil box that I’ve pre-ordered (“BUY ALL THE THINGS”, as they say!)

Druze Hacker - click to enlarge
Druze Hacker – click to enlarge
Druze Hacker - click to enlarge
Druze Hacker – click to enlarge
Druze Hacker - click to enlarge
Druze Hacker – click to enlarge

In between fits of painting I also did a little converting – I decided to further modify my converted Bounty Hunter – rather than the combi rifle he was armed with, I decided to take him back to his roots (he started life as a Nisse Sniper with mis-cast sniper rifle). I had some plasticard rod which I clipped to length and added over the barrel to make it back into a Sniper Rifle – much more in-keeping with his look with the hood and everything, I feel.

Authorised Bounty Hunter conversion - click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter conversion – click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter conversion - click to enlarge
Authorised Bounty Hunter conversion – click to enlarge

Finally for this week, my old Akal Commando with HMG got the chop and had his HMG (which is no longer a legal profile) swapped for a Spitfire – I ended up chipping some of the paintwork on him but a little repair job should solve that. At least now he’s WYSIWYG when I ever decide to go back to using PanO!

Akal with Spitfire (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Akal with Spitfire (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Next time, I’ll actually finish off the Marauder that got bumped back down the queue, as well as start work on something else in the Pile of Shame. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Brushwork – Thursday 7th July

Leave a Reply

