Construction Work – Tuesday 26th July

CorSec and Rebel Alliance X-Wings - click to enlarge

While I’ve been a little quiet on the blog-front in recent weeks, things haven’t been that quiet on the hobby and gaming front.

For a start, following my birthday last month, I decided to treat myself to a couple of mats for my gaming board. Our local club had some produced earlier in the year. I’d done the Photoshop work and added our club’s logo onto them, and I liked the design enough that I created a new version without the logo on for my own use.

My space mat (low resolution) - click to enlarge
My space mat (low resolution) – click to enlarge
Space mat with Triple Defenders - click to enlarge
Space mat with Triple Defenders – click to enlarge
Space mat detail - click to enlarge
Space mat detail – click to enlarge

Feeling pretty flush, I also decided that I was fed up with my plain black board which I tend to use as my urban table. Buoyed with enthusiasm, I set about photoshopping up something with a bit of a pattern to it, as well as a few random patches of hexagons and lights (because Infinity), to add some colour to the table.

My tarmac mat (low resolution) - click to enlarge
My tarmac mat (low resolution) – click to enlarge
Tarmac mat detail - click to enlarge
Tarmac mat detail – click to enlarge
Tarmac mat detail - click to enlarge
Tarmac mat detail – click to enlarge
Tarmac mat with terrain - click to enlarge
Tarmac mat with terrain – click to enlarge

In addition to this, and also to give a little variety to my Infinity games, I also had a bit of a play with the Najavo terrain that comes with the USAriadna army pack. While the whole terrain mat doesn’t quite suit the colour scheme of my ‘natural’ terrain board, the pre-fab ‘decking’ (for want of a better word) could come in useful, so I set about cutting this out. While assembling the buildings, I used some double-sided tape and a few assorted washers (that a friend had picked up from Wilkinsons’ on the cheap for various projects) to add some weight to them to stop them sliding about so easily. Since I had plenty of spare cardboard Infinity boxes knocking around, I was able to reinforce them as well, so I’ve got some sturdy cardboard terrain for those times I don’t want to fight over a city. Added to this the large rocky bluffs I have, plus the newly based jungle plants (aquarium plants on bases) I now have myself a very different, yet very serviceable second set of terrain for my Infinity games.

Natural terrain board - click to enlarge
Natural terrain board – click to enlarge

So while I’ve been gaming a fair bit in the last few weeks (several games of Infinity with Adam, Mike and Craig) as well as some X-Wing with my shiny new Imperial Veterans, I’ve also had a bit of time at the hobby desk!

As I mentioned a few times in previous posts, I backed my first Kickstarter in the form of the Human Interface: Nakamura Tower boardgame by Polish company Post-Industrial Games, mainly due to the superb artwork and miniature designs that they’d been showing during the run of the campaign.

I’m pleased to say that my pledge arrived a little over a week ago and I’ve been busy getting it all up together. I’d done a bit of preparation for the arrival of everything by getting some bases together – I had considered getting some resin bases for them like the rest of my Infinity models, but the sheer amount of models coming my way meant that it wasn’t terribly cost-efficient to buy over 40 bases at once.

In the end, I decided I’d make my own using various Plasticard pieces I had lying around. I looked around for a couple of guides and got cracking – first sanding all of the bases and flat plasticard on some fine-grade sandpaper, then getting to work scoring panel lines at 45 and 90 degree angles on them all using a steel ruler and blunt edge of a craft-knife. I then used a drill to make some shallow holes at the corners of these pieces, which will either be painted up as recessed lights or simply left dark as rivets/screw holes at the corners of the panels. I then added some plasticard and in places did the same again on these parts. I’ll paint them up two different colours to differentiate the height difference when I get around to painting up the models.

My new bases - click to enlarge
My new bases – click to enlarge

And of course, I’ve build up the models, which look great and can fit in quite easily with Infinity, which was my main reason for backing the game, although I do want to play the game as well as it looks fun, if a little complex for the Hacking phase of the game!

Here’s some shots of the models from the core game:

Nakamura Security Team (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Nakamura Security Team (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Ubermensch Gang (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Ubermensch Gang (work in progress) – click to enlarge
AI Avatar (work in progress) - click to enlarge
AI Avatar (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Muramasa and Motoshige Drones (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Muramasa and Motoshige Drones (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Masamune Drones (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Masamune Drones (work in progress) – click to enlarge

For one of the drones, I decided to make it look a little more interesting by adding an EVO-Hacker style Antenna to it as well as one of the spare chainguns that I had.

Motoshige Drone conversion (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Motoshige Drone conversion (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Motoshige Drone conversion (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Motoshige Drone conversion (work in progress) – click to enlarge

This should make a great stand-in for an EVO Repeater in my various Infinity factions.

I’m still waiting on a single replacement part for one of the models – the AI Human Hybrid Third form (the big fella on the 40mm base without an undercoat in one of the pics below), but I’ve been assured it’s on its way, so once he’s built fully I’ll get some undercoat on him too. I’m planning to do an initial pass of basecoats on every model first of all to get them at least ready to game with before revisiting them for detailing and highlighting afterwards.

Here’s the shots of all of the stretch goals/expansion models that also came with my pledge:

SAR Angels team (work in progress) - click to enlarge
SAR Angels team (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The Search and Rescue Angels team – these girls will make great stand-in doctors.

RAID 44 team (work in progress) - click to enlarge
RAID 44 team (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I really like this police team – I’ve got so many ideas for narrative Infinity scenarios which would use many of these models.

Cyborg Hunter and Sylvia Almarez (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Cyborg Hunter and Sylvia Almarez (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Blackstone Commandos team (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Blackstone Commandos team (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The Blackstone Commandos were the models that really hooked me on the HINT Kickstarter, and the main reason I put in a pledge.

AI Human Hybrids (work in progress) - click to enlarge
AI Human Hybrids (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I really like the extra mechanical limbs on these guys, it really helps make them just that little bit creepier than the AI Avatar further up the page.

In terms of Infinity, I’ve not worked on my Marauder much since he got bumped down the queue for the Naval Officer, but he’s back at the top of my list ready to be done next! Hopefully in the next week or so I should have him plus another model completed to show off!

Marauder (work in progress)  - click to enlarge
Marauder (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Finally for this mammoth post/photo-dump, I made a decision a few days ago to do something more with my X-Wing models – while the paint jobs they come with are perfectly serviceable, I really wanted to make them pop. Various X-Wing communities have given me the inspiration to add some simple highlights to them:

CorSec and Rebel Alliance X-Wings - click to enlarge
CorSec and Rebel Alliance X-Wings – click to enlarge

I simply mixed Ceramite White and Ushabti Bone (about 60/30) together on my wet palette to make the highlight colour for the Rebel X-Wing. The CorSec repaint that I already had was simply highlighted with pure Ceramite White.

I’m really pleased with how they’ve come out for relatively little work, so I’ll be continuing across the rest of my ships gradually – the beauty is that the paint jobs are already half done, so I’ve really only got details to do.

Next time, I’m hoping to have finished that Marauder – until then, thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Construction Work – Tuesday 26th July

    1. Lee says:

      Thanks! I’m pretty pleased with how my terrain’s turned out now – although my urban stuff is a little monochrome so needs a touch more colour!

      Yeah, I can’t wait to proxy some of those HINT models in Infinity! It was one of my main reasons for getting them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

