Brushwork – Saturday 29th October

Rebel Heroes - click to enlarge

In a bit of a break from my regular Infinity-centric gaming and painting, this weeks’ post will showcase the (mostly work-in-progress) Imperial Assault miniatures I picked up recently.

Being a life-long Star Wars fan, it’s amazed me how long I’ve actually held off on buying this game. The same could be said of X-Wing, which I’ve been playing casually for a couple of years now – at first, I was hesitant to dive in, despite my love for everything Star Wars. Let’s just say that I’m glad I did, and while I won’t ever likely go to an X-Wing or Imperial Assault event (a discussion for another time, I think), I do see myself playing both systems for quite some time.

In terms of Imperial Assault, I’ve got a couple of concurrent Campaigns on the go with a couple of groups, and everyone’s enjoying it so far. As far as the system goes, it’s nice and simple and feels very Star Wars – it’s not a war of attrition, it’s a race to complete objectives all the while under fire from the far more numerous and well-equipped Imperial troops. Perfect for quick games which play out a great little story!

I’ve discovered a bit of a new-found love for Board Games in general in the past year or so. They’d never really appealed in years gone by, but they’ve certainly gained more popularity in my circle of friends, and in society in general it would seem, with the rise of many, many sites, YouTube channels and blogs all about them.

There’s something about the self-contained nature of them (for the most part, barring expansions of course) which really appeals to me – it’s a one-off spend and that’s your game which you can play again and again. I picked up Super Dungeon Explore a year or so ago, and while I’ve not played it as much as I’d like, I’m happy I did. I tried Fantasy Flight’s Gears of War as well, but it never really gained much traction with me or my friends, and so earlier this year I managed to sell it on eBay and spend the funds on Imperial Assault instead. I was also lucky enough to receive an early Christmas present from my wife which was the majority of the Wave 1 expansions (I’m just missing IG-88 and General Weiss – I’ll likely pick these up myself after Christmas).

Anyway, enough yammering, let me show you some models!

I started by giving everything a white undercoat. The AT-ST instead got a grey undercoat to save time. I then concentrated on getting block colours on everything and then giving them ink washes – I figured that it was better to get some colour on them all first rather than have a few complete models and a few just undercoated. It was a bit of an effort, but totally worth it in the end, seeing everything on the table with their proper colours!

The models themselves aren’t up to the quality of Corvus Belli’s models, but as boardgame pieces they certainly do their job very well, and they capture the characters perfectly. In terms of cleanup, I didn’t spend as long as I would on a more detailed miniature. I cleaned off mould lines and flash where I could, although in some instances it was near-impossible due to the way detail was moulded. As these are boardgame pieces as opposed to wargaming pieces, I feel I can justify this lack of effort (a flimsy excuse, but it’s one I’m sticking to!).

For the Stormtroopers, I wanted to do something to distinguish the Elite unit, and a quick bit of searching turned up with Paul’s Star Wars Miniatures, who’d hit upon the idea of painting them like the Shocktroopers, most recently seen in Star Wars Battlefront. Perfect!

Stormtroopers (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Stormtroopers (work in progress) – click to enlarge

I simply painted in the black parts with Abaddon Black, then washed the whole thing with Nuln Oil. For the Shocktroopers, I added their signature red markings with Mephiston Red before the Nuln Oil wash. I’ll re-touch these with white and red to neaten them up a bit in the future.

Next were the Trandoshan Hunters and Nexu. The Nexu were especially quick to do – just some hints of Tiger-style stripes, then ink washes. The Trandoshans had some green skin applied as well as some colour on their fatigues before they also received ink washes.

Nexu (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Nexu (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Nexu (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Nexu (work in progress) – click to enlarge
Trandoshan Hunters (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Trandoshan Hunters (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Next for the currently unfinished stuff on show are the Imperial Officers and Probe Droids. To differentiate the three officers, I gave one of them dark skin, and for the Elite officer I went with a darker uniform than the other two. For the Probe Droids I’ll do the eye lenses slightly different tints each:

Imperial Officers and Probe Droids (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Imperial Officers and Probe Droids (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The first Imperial models I actually completed were this pair of E-Web Engineers – my friends are terrified of these things, so I felt it only fitting they got painted up first!

E-Web Engineers - click to enlarge
E-Web Engineers – click to enlarge

I’ve been working on the more powerful Imperial models at the minute, as they tend to be on the board a little longer than your run of the mill Stormtroopers, and so deserve a little more attention at this stage. These Royal Guards were painted with Mephiston Red and washed with Reikland Fleshshade. One pair have had their highlights completed – Mephiston Red, Wild Rider Red then Fire Dragon Bright. I also added some tiny spots of Bestigor Flesh on the helmet areas as well for extreme highlights. I plan to do the other pair next, and not really vary them a great deal, other than some details on their staffs to differentiate the two groups:

Royal Guards (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Royal Guards (work in progress) – click to enlarge

The AT-ST was simply drybrushed with Fortress Grey and Astronomican Grey. Eventually I’ll go back and detail this a little more with some ink washes and weathering, but it does the job well for now:

AT-ST (work in progress) - click to enlarge
AT-ST (work in progress) – click to enlarge
AT-ST (work in progress) - click to enlarge
AT-ST (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Finally for the Imperials I have the Dark Lord of the Sith himself, Darth Vader, along with a Royal Guard Champion (whose look and pose is based on Carnor Jax from the Crimson Empire comic series – excellent bit of acknowledgement, that!)

Darth Vader and Royal Guard Champion - click to enlarge
Darth Vader and Royal Guard Champion – click to enlarge
Darth Vader and Royal Guard Champion - click to enlarge
Darth Vader and Royal Guard Champion – click to enlarge

Vader was painted with Tamiya Flat Black (a colour that I’ve discovered a new love for), then his armour plates were painted with Abaddon Black. His sleeves and trousers were painted with the custom dark grey that I have and washed with Nuln Oil. I then highlighted up the cloaks with this custom dark grey, and then used my wet-palette to mix up a couple of extra highlight stages. The armour plates were highlighted with Mechanicus Standard Grey and some Dawnstone on extreme edges. The red on the Royal Guard Champion was highlighted the same as the Royal Guard above. I decided to add a glow to Vader’s Lightsaber, to add a bit of extra colour to the model – this was achieved simply by drybrushing some red on the inner edges of his cloak, arms and legs near the blade. Simple yet effective!

Now it’s on to the Rebels. I actually started by painting the Rebel heroes, but wanted to save them until last in this blog post. I figured that the heroes would be on the table the most compared with the villains (who are really only there to get shot up!), and so I reasoned it was more important these were finished first.

The Rebel Troopers and Saboteurs are up first – simple block colours and ink washes at the moment, although I did take some time to add the eyes on just to make them look a little closer to being finished:

Rebel Troopers and Saboteurs (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Rebel Troopers and Saboteurs (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Some familiar faces are up next – Han, Chewie and Luke! These guys probably won’t see the board as frequently as the guys above, so they’ve only been done with basic colours and washes as well for now (although they too have eyes, like the Troopers above):

Han Solo, Chewbacca and Luke Skywalker (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Han Solo, Chewbacca and Luke Skywalker (work in progress) – click to enlarge

Finally for this mammoth post are the Rebel Heroes from the Imperial Assault core box – Gideon Argus, Gaarkhan, Mak Eshka’rey, Jyn Odan, Diala Passil and Fenn Signis! These guys were a joy to paint, and I tried to stick as close to the artwork as I could with their colours. The only difference here was with Diala, whose robes are possibly a bit too red rather than the terracotta brown that her artwork shows her wearing. Like Vader, I added a bit of a glow to her Lightsaber with some limited drybrushing.

Rebel Heroes - click to enlarge
Rebel Heroes – click to enlarge
Rebel Heroes - click to enlarge
Rebel Heroes – click to enlarge

That’s all for now – I’ll be photographing them more as I finish them off, although for now it’ll be back to Infinity models for me for my next blog post! Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Brushwork – Saturday 29th October

  1. Shan says:

    I really like the way your models look they have a great tidiness about them they just look smooth and clean and the colour really pops. Why do you think that is?

    1. Lee says:

      Thank you! In terms of colours popping, it could be because I used a white undercoat on all of these models, which has really helped brighten the look – normally I undercoat in grey or black. As for the smoothness, it’s because I’ve used thin coats of paint 🙂

Leave a Reply

