Brushwork – Monday 13th January

Space Marine Captain on bike

As I write this there are just under two weeks until the Von Smallhausen tournament, and I think I’m on schedule – if I can get the rest of the bikers done this week I’ll be a happy man! I did make a last-minute tweak to my list which means I’ve got a single Scout with Missile Launcher to finish, but he only needs a bit of detail work so I should be fine.

Anyway, this post is mainly a photodump of the Captain with Relic Blade who I finished last night. I still want to add a bit more detailing to him (the headlight, the display on his handlebars etc) but for now he’ll do for the tournament:

Space Marine Captain on Bike - click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike – click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike - click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike – click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike - click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike – click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike - click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike – click to enlarge

That’s the diagonal shots, now a front and side angle:

Space Marine Captain on Bike - click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike – click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike - click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike – click to enlarge

And finally a shot showing the Crux Terminatus badge on his front wheel-arch:

Space Marine Captain on Bike - click to enlarge
Space Marine Captain on Bike – click to enlarge

Here’s a shot of the bikers now that I’ve drilled their gun barrels out and undercoated the riders (I’m definitely going to leave them unattached to the bikes since they grip onto them well enough not to warrant magnetising, while making storage easier!)

Space Marine Bikers (work in progress) - click to enlarge
Space Marine Bikers (work in progress) – click to enlarge

And to round off this post, here’s a pic of the 1250pt force in all its glory:

1250pt Space Marine force - click to enlarge
1250pt Space Marine force – click to enlarge
5 thoughts on “Brushwork – Monday 13th January

  1. dave2718 says:

    Your captain is looking nice. I find grey one of those colours that can be hard to make nice and smooth like you have achieved here (almost to the point where I think I should just leave the bare sprue!). Good luck with the tournament.

    1. Leeman says:

      Thanks! Yes, grey can be a pain sometimes – there’s about 2 thin coats of Codex Grey on him to get the smooth look. I could probably get away with just leaving the plastic bare and painting the rest!

Leave a Reply

