2015 – A Year in Review

Gaming Thoughts...

What happened in 2015?

As I look back over the past twelve months, it’s clear that 2015 was an eventful year for me, both in terms of my personal life and for my hobby.

Milestone with added pop-culture reference
Milestone with added pop-culture reference

In terms of the hobby and this blog, I passed the 150th post milestone and published 34 posts (not including this one) this year. More importantly, since I started keeping a track of my Pile of Shame, I’ve made some great progress, painting 51 models – that’s almost 1 a week! – and that’s not including the Ultramarines commission work which I’ve been doing on the side for a friend, some of which I’ve published here on the blog.

As far as gaming goes, this year I attended a whole heap of Infinity events (six, which is a lot for me), and even ran one of my own. I said last year that I didn’t want to go to as many tournaments in 2015 as I did in 2014, but somehow that didn’t happen and I ended up going to quite a few events. This did lead me to a bit of a burnout towards the tail end of 2015, not just with tournaments but with gaming in general, although I’m relieved to say that I’m now out of this rut following a team event in Exeter which I’m pleased to say our team achieved 2nd place in!

Anything to not have to use that BLOODY Paradiso Cover artwork again...
Anything to not have to use that BLOODY Paradiso Cover artwork again…

Darren and I have been gradually working our way through our slightly modified version of Campaign Paradiso, although we’re nowhere near as far as we’d hoped we’d get by the end of the year – however, we’ve both made a pact to get the thing finished, and purposefully reduce the number of tournaments we attend in 2016. Whether this comes to pass or whether we crack and go to loads of events remains to be seen! It’s certainly been fun playing Infinity in a slightly different way, with games over natural terrain, boarding actions and more unusual army lists making appearances throughout the year.

Running my own 20-person Tournament this year was certainly a fun experience, if a little daunting. I’ve not had any supremely negative feedback, so I must have done something right! I’m hoping to be able to run another tournament at the club again in 2016, as well as possibly running one at local wargames show Attack! (although I’m waiting on their committee to confirm whether there’s space for us yet!)

Not pictured: masses of tokens
Not pictured: masses of tokens

I’ve had a lot of fun playing X-Wing with friends in the past year, even going so far as to get a few non-wargamer friends into it by virtue of their love for Star Wars! While I’ll never attend an X-Wing event as a competitor (the tournament style of play doesn’t appeal to me), I do look forward to expanding my collection further in 2016, and getting some extra pieces which will allow us to do some ground-attack scenarios as well.

So what’s coming in 2016?

As 2015 went on, I started branching out a little with my purchases, picking up various models from different factions that weren’t Aleph, PanO or Tohaa, mainly for the purposes of painting something different (and eventually having a large Infinity collection from which to choose from). I’ve gained Mercenaries in the form of Senor Massacre, various Bounty Hunter models, some Haqqislam, some USAriadna, and by virtue of a flukey eBay win, quite a bit of Yu Jing, all of which have been added to my Pile of Shame spreadsheet and will hopefully get painted up as the year progresses! (Although, of course, more models are sure to get added to this list as the year goes on!)

In terms of gaming, I want to try to play more narrative style games of Infinity and X-Wing, and go to a lot less tournaments than last year. It’s not that I don’t enjoy them, but I feel I just need a break from ITS for a bit – it can feel a little same-y if that’s all that gets played, I find. As I moved house over the Christmas period, I hope that once I’m fully settled in I may take a little look at some other systems. My gaming group have had a sudden surge of interest in both Dropzone and Dropfleet Commander, so there’s plenty of scope there should I choose to take a proper look.

Thanks for reading – here’s to many more posts in 2016!

2 thoughts on “2015 – A Year in Review

Leave a Reply

