Brushwork – Tuesday 22nd January

After two complete hammerings last week by Darren and Chris, I got back to the painting table…

First off, I begun work on tidying up some of the marines in my Tactical squads – these guys are the backbone of my army, and I always take at least 3 units of them, if not 4. Some of them are models I’ve owned since 3rd Edition 40k, back in 1999, and the paint job is starting to show it’s age a little on some of them, so I’ll be concentrating on bringing them all up to date. I also sorted out the coils on my plasma weapons, using an old metallic green paint, followed by a wash of Thraka Green:

Space Marines with Plasma weaponry - click to enlarge
Space Marines with Plasma weaponry – click to enlarge

Just look at all that Plasma! I ought to be a Dark Angels player…

Speaking of Dark Angels, I decided to sell off my Dark Angels from the Dark Vengeance box to my regular opponent Chris, who I’m sure will get far more use out of them than I will! However, I did keep the awesome Character models from the set, and I decided I’d add the Librarian to my ever-expanding force of Redeemers. I had to scrape and file away the Dark Angels symbol on his neckerchief/bib thing, and also on the shoulder pad. It looks a bit rough unfortunately, but given how awkward it was I think it could’ve been a lot worse:

Space Marine Librarian - click to enlarge
Space Marine Librarian – click to enlarge
Space Marine Librarian - click to enlarge
Space Marine Librarian – click to enlarge
Space Marine Librarian - click to enlarge
Space Marine Librarian – click to enlarge
Space Marine Librarian - click to enlarge
Space Marine Librarian – click to enlarge

I’ll be aiming to finish his base this week. I also ordered some rare earth magnets from eBay which arrived yesterday, and I’ll be putting those to use on my Land Speeders and anywhere else I can think of!

2 thoughts on “Brushwork – Tuesday 22nd January

Leave a Reply

